Industrial Electrical Lessons Part-01||Star connection and continuity check of three phase induction type motor.

in Steem4Professionalslast month

Steemian Friends,
Today, I will write a tutorial about Industrial Electrical. As we become electrical engineers, we know theory best, but our practical knowledge is very limited. I will write one electrical topic every week to teach electrical engineers or users working with industrial electricals from my experience. Hopefully, everyone can learn by reading my writing.

Industrial Electrical Lession Part-01.png
Design By Canva

Today, I will teach the technique of checking the star connection of a three-phase induction motor and testing the motor with a multimeter. I work in an industrial electrical department. I think the most important job of an electrical engineer is the topic of my writing today, so let's begin.


Step01:

First, I have drawn the coil connection diagram of a three-phase induction motor. This diagram is read in every electrical engineering book, so I drew it. Here, coils u1,v1, and w1 have one end. The other three coil ends are named u2,v2, and w2. An induction motor has six terminals inside. I have drawn a picture below.

IMG20240810144220.jpg


Step02:

Then, I drew a diagram showing the star connection of my current induction-type motor. Here are the symbols for star connection and coil connection. There are three coil connections with two terminals each. One coil is labelled as u1 and u2, the second as v1 and v2, and the third as w1 and w2. It is shown in the picture below.

IMG20240810165444.jpg


Step03:

Then, I have drawn the connection diagram of an induction type motor. Here, the connections of u2,v2, and w2 coils are joined to a point. Three-phase Red, Yellow, and Blue wires are connected from the other three ends, u1,v1, and w1. Basically, it is a star connection of an induction-type motor.

IMG20240810165700.jpg

Now, I will show the above diagrams practically while working in the electrical industry. Then, everyone can learn theory as well as practice.


Step04:

I have a three-phase induction motor and a multimeter. Then, I opened the motor's terminal box and took a picture of the star connection drawing, which is exactly the same as my diagram above.

IMG20240810124838.jpg

IMG20240810121831.jpg

IMG20240810123605.jpg


Step05:

Then, I removed three wires from the u1,v1, and w1 terminals of the motor by connecting red, yellow, and blue, respectively. I connected the other three ends, u2,v2, and w2, together with a copper bar, which corresponds to my diagram above.

IMG20240810124721.jpg


Step06:

Then I take a multimeter and set the selector switch to the ohms end. Then I hold the knob of the multimeter to the u1 and u2 ends and see the display of the multimeter. Thus, check v1, v2, and w1; w2 ends in the same way as a multimeter. Since these terminals are the same as the motor coil connection, the meter shows ohms. This made me realize that my motor is fine.

IMG20240810122908.jpg

IMG20240810122901.jpg


Step07:

Then, I checked u1 and v1, u2 and v2, and w1 and w2 with a multimeter. This is shown in the picture below. Since the upper ends are not connected, the multimeter does not show ohms.

IMG20240810122926.jpg


Step08:

Then, I check each terminal by holding one knob on the multimeter and the other knob on the motor body. If the motor coil is sticking to the motor body, this test will detect it. I have shown it in the picture below.

IMG20240810123923.jpg

In the next tutorial, I will show the delta connection of an induction-type motor and techniques for checking the motor. I hope that by reading my article, you have learned how to connect and troubleshoot a three-phase induction motor.

Blue line.png

Steemit.com.png

image.png

Sort:  

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Upvoted. Thank You for sending some of your rewards to @null. It will make Steem stronger.


1.gif

TEAM 7

Congratulations, your post has been successfully curated by Team 7 via @𝐢𝐫𝐚𝐰𝐚𝐧𝐝𝐞𝐝𝐲

 last month 

Dear Sir, Thank you very much for your support.

Your post has been upvoted in the steemexclusive tag. Subscribe our community for any post related to lifestyle.

Subscribe Steem For Lifestyle Community

Take part in the contests going on this week in our community.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60024.78
ETH 2351.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47