Farming and farmers by @chiagoziee

in Nature & Agricultureyesterday (edited)

INTRODUCTION

Me in our plantain plantation.

IMG_20240717_110258_187.jpg

Hello steemains I am extremely glad to be here with you all today, I hope you all are okay. I will to thank @natu-agriculture for the smart and careful organization of the contest in Nature & Agriculture community.

Are you a farmer Does anyone in your family engage in farming?

Actually I will like to start by saying that I am a farmer and farming is a lucrative job. Not that it's my profession but I and my family use farming as a support to the job we have.

Farming like I said is lucrative and all my nuclear family members engage in it and also the some of the extended ones.

The first thing we planted in our farm land was actually yam before we started to also cultivate cassava.

I will also like to list out the importance of Agriculture.
  1. Agriculture can be seen as a poverty elevation project and can also aid self employment and stop unemployment.

  2. Agriculture can serve as a means by which the environment can become more greener and cleaner.

  3. Practicing the kind of agriculture like poultry and cattle rearing can help manage and keep animals alive for the future.

  4. Agricultural activities like mining can help the nation to be equiped with natural resources and raw material for industrial purpose.

  5. Agriculture can serve as a way of preparing for the future against famine.

  6. Agriculture helps to enhance mans standard of living and makes life 💯 easier for man and animals.

IMG_20240717_110332_893.jpgIMG_20240717_110307_731.jpg
What channels does a farmer have to face?

As a farmer we are going to experience difficult times and here are them listed below.

  1. As a farmer we are going to express low yield of crops in a particular season or year.

  2. Farmers are also exposed to loss during harvest, they may not make a good harvest.

  3. As a farmer you are also going to be disturbed by insects like termite, grasshopper, bees and animals like rodent, and cattle.

  4. You will also face the problems of weeds competing with your crops for manure and growth.

  5. Also, while performing farming activities you may come in contacts with reptiles like Snake 🐍 that may bite you to dead.

  6. As a farmer you will definitely experience the decrease in the value of a farm produce. Which may bring loss to you.

Explain how you are involved in agriculture and present the role of the farmer.

Me digging the hole in other that the yam may role on it.
IMG_20240716_195012_428.jpg

I am really a kind of person who loves agriculture and my own aspect of agriculture is mainly about cash crops like cassava, yam, okra, maize, cucumbers etc. I and my family members practices a mixed farming operation. During the early raining season is when the yam, cassava, maize and cucumbers etc are being planted i.e March to April which is the planting season.

Last week Thursday, I and my family members fried Garri. Here are the procedure making Garri.

Firstly, you will go to your cassava farm and harvest it carefully. After the harvest you then slice your cassava to remove it's skin after that you then take it to the fryer either in a bag or container.

IMG_20240711_174410_588.jpgIMG_20240711_165307_347.jpg

But I prefer bagging it. After that, you wash your cassava to remove the sands on it body after that you grind it until its soft. Then it's been put in a bag to remove the water in it and it's been fried the next day so it can ferment.

The next day you then filter the Garri in a filter. After that you begin to fry it. When it becomes strong and hard it's then ready to go out of the fire. After this your Garri is ready.

If you are a farmer what kind of crops do you produce?

My farm

IMG_20240716_195012_914.jpg

As a farmer I produce crops like cassava yam, okra, maize, cucumbers and pepper.

I really like to produce yam because it's servers as a long lasting crop and are us traditionally by my people especially during important ceremonies.

Okra is a vegetable crop that is eaten all over my country Nigeria. We love it because of it's pleasing taste and how it appears it's a vegetable that when prepared to soup contains protein, carbohydrates, and fat and oil.

Okra soup and a yam tubber.

IMG_20240717_125911_813.jpgIMG_20240717_125211_191.jpg

Maize as we all know is one of the cereals that serves as a means of reducing hunger and it's has a good taste it's really worth cultivating in your farm as a farmer.

After coming to the end of this contest I will like to invite @josepha, @aspiya, @bonaventure24, @onomzy001 and lastly @entity01 to participate in this contest.

Thanks for reading this publication

Sort:  
 yesterday 

Thank you, friend!
I'm @steem.history, who is steem witness.
Thank you for witnessvoting for me.
image.png
please click it!
image.png
(Go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type fbslo at the bottom of the page)

The weight is reduced because of the lack of Voting Power. If you vote for me as a witness, you can get my little vote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63824.30
ETH 3420.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54