Black Listing v White ListingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in Review the World4 years ago

BlackHat.png

The new SteemIt Terms of Service says that we cannot include links to sites in our blog posts without express written consent of SteemIt Inc..

14.1.7. [users may not] Use our services to promote third-party platforms or to promote each other without our written permission.

A link to a web site is a de facto promotion of the web site; therefore, SteemIt posts cannot contain links. Period.

The ToS does not give us a mechanism for getting links approved. Since I like to talk about different topics, I actually end up linking to a large number of different platforms when I write.

I know that this will sound strange, but I often end up deciding to include links while I am in the process of writing.

The SteemIt Terms of Service demands that we write to SteemIt Inc and receive written permission before including a link in a post. I really don't want to waste the time doing this; So, I would like to put together a proposal to create a database to mechanize the approval of disapproval of links.

A link clearing database will make it easy for people to find out if their posts are in accord or in violation of ToS 14.1.7 .

The first in creating a censorship program is deciding if it should be based on a black list or a white list.

I have developed programs for deleting spam emails. The first programs used a black list approach. When I encountered spam, I would blacklist the sender. The problem with this approach is that the spammers kept changing their return address.

I finally moved to a whitelist approach, I created a list of all my contacts. Only people I've contacted in the past could get through.

The most robust system for approving links would be to create a robust system with a whitelist, blacklist and quarantine zone.

SteemIt could maintain a list of approved and banned web sites.

When we write a post, steemit's filters could examine the links. If the links are in the white list, SteemIt would publish it.

If the post has links to sites that SteemIt bans; the system would reject the post.

If the post has links to sites that SteemIt has yet to judge; then the post would drop into a quarantine zone. The link would not published until the censors at SteemIt have approved the links.

I could write such a program. I have written spam filters for email accounts. Unfortunately, the fact that SteemIt added the following line to their ToS has me too depressed to write code.

14.1.7. [users may not] Use our services to promote third-party platforms or to promote each other without our written permission.

The idea that I have to get written permission from corporate before I include a link in post has me perplexed.

I have no idea what "promote each other" means. An at link is a promotion for another user. Eg, writing @justinsunsteemit into a post is a promotion for this user.

Anyway, I don't want to violate the Terms of Service. I really don't want to have to write an email to get every site reference in a post approved by corporate.

Anyway, I think a database that contains a list of approved and banned sites would be the best way to enforce the Terms of Service. Does anyone else have ideas on how we can comply with the ToS?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58068.07
ETH 3133.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44