First Review - Google.comsteemCreated with Sketch.

The goal of the Review the World community was to promote web programming through web site reviews.

I reread the SteemIt Terms of Services this morning. I was horrified to discover that line 14.1.7 says Steemians cannot "Use our services [SteemIt] to promote third-party platforms or to promote each other without our written permission."

The ToS essentially says that we cannot have links to other web sites. Here is the full SteemIt ToS.

Anyway, I thought I would start my reviews with by looking at the most successful web site to date. Fortunately, I do not need to link to this site because it is ubiquitous.

temp.png

The static image above shows the Google Homepage. This page is nothing more than a text box and a search button. The search button is superfluous.

Google has an intentionally boring web page; So what make Google so incredibly successful?

I contend that Google.com is successful because the web site has an external focus. People use Google to find other web sites.

People love Google because Google brings them to interesting new web sites.

In my opinion most web sites have too much of an internal focus. The sites want to drawn in and trap users.

When I look at the most successful web site, I realize that most web developers have it wrong. The long term success of a web site depends on the site's ability to bring users to new locations.

The success of a web site isn't determined by how much traffic it brings in. The success of a web site is determined by how well the site interfaces with the Internet as a whole.

I created the Review the World Community to be a place that has an external focus. I wanted it to be a place where people could discuss some of the different web sites on the internet.

The new ToS on SteemIt says that I can't have links in my posts. How can I have a web site review program if I can't link to other web sites?

Anyway, I wanted to end this review by inviting people to drop their web site in a comment and I would write up a review.

I can't do that. If you gave me a link to your web site; then you would be promoting a third party platform which is against the ToS.

My community failed coming out of the gate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63466.72
ETH 2683.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80