The Two Girls Looking for Food - Testimony

Act 20:35 I have shewed you all things, how that so labouring ye ought to support the weak, and to remember the words of the Lord Jesus, how he said, It is more blessed to give than to receive.

A couple of years ago I was up early in the morning before daylight. I looked down through the dark yard and I could see two shadowy figures moving around in the bottom area of our yard in the Philippines. Down there is a huge mango tree that produces my favorite mango. Usually, when the tree has ripening fruit, there are 5 or more delicious mangos on the ground each morning. It is one of the first things I do every morning is to go down there and pick some of the ground. Also, I usually eat one or two before I make it back to the house. These girls were beneath the tree looking for mangos before 5 o’clock in the morning.

50B7817C-6B2C-416E-9EAF-15A3C24B2641.jpeg
I took this photo in Virginia USA

I went to where they were carrying a flashlight. It was the first time I had met these two girls and they were afraid of me when they saw me. I assured them that is was ok and then I used my light to assist them in finding some food. How hungry they must have been to leave their warm bed to go find food this early in the morning. We searched and searched and not one mango!

I was walking in a straight line with my flashlight on the ground. In my thoughts I said, “Lord, I would surely love to give these precious girls something to eat.” As I went forward 5 steps I saw nothing. Immediately after I said this in my mind, I turned around and walked the exact few steps back.

Psa 37:3 Trust in the LORD, and do good; so shalt thou dwell in the land, and verily thou shalt be fed.
Psa 37:4 Delight thyself also in the LORD; and he shall give thee the desires of thine heart.
Psa 37:5 Commit thy way unto the LORD; trust also in him; and he shall bring it to pass.

I turned and walked the exact same path back. Laying there on the ground I saw 3 perfectly ripe and beautiful mangos. I picked them up and handed them to the girls. The text scripture came immediately to my mind. “It is more blessed to give than to receive.”.

We found out later that they were sisters. They lived in a house with their mother and father that was only 2 meters by 3 meters in size. Dirt floors and only a light hanging in the middle of the house. No running water. For many months after this they were sitting at our dinner table for lunch and supper. My wife taught them about Jesus. The family has moved away since, but it is with fondness that I remember this today.

Thank you for stopping by and commenting.
Daddy William

1779AE9B-8A89-42F1-BA56-8B5D3E90C2E5.jpeg

All proceeds from this account will be used to benefit the people of the Philippines and Eastern Asian Countries.

I am excited to be returning soon to the Philippines to be with my wife and son.

268474DC-CCAB-4C93-B125-80AD1111E658.jpeg

Sort:  

Awesome way to help them out👍

Posted using Partiko Android

It is what we were made for bro!

I remember you telling me about these two girls. That’s such a wonderful testimony of God’s providence and care towards us. Indeed it is more blessed to give than to receive.

cool. thanks for the story

Amen! Blessings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53699.14
ETH 2213.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28