You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Western Shores Sample Rules — Second Revision

in ART LOVERS4 years ago

The first player on the first turn of the game is the person who read or heard a tale of glorious deeds most recently.

My first thought was that this should read "The first player on the first turn of the game is the person who performed a glorious deed most recently." Make it personal!

And I loved the opening graphic. "Like... England." Yeah. 😂

Okay, my thoughts. I was able to follow the game play and the rules: pick up cards, play cards in order, be greedy, suffer the consequences (because that has been at least a small part of human history). No problem. I think I would enjoy playing it!

But...

I'm a visual person. I had to read the instructions a couple times to try to visualise the game; I would have personally preferred to see visual examples of the cards. It would have helped me to learn the game a little quicker.

Second thought is that people as a whole have a pretty short attention span, and if you could find a way to compress the instructions into more easy-to-chew bites that'd be helpful. For what it's worth (and it may be worth nothing), I've personally tried to reduce the rules to my game to the size of the cards that will be used:

instructions.png

(Yes, I still have written instructions, but these are for people who wont' read them)

I still think it's awesome you're doing the art for it!

Sort:  

Thanks a bunch...of bearskins!

I do plan to compress the rules. Also, I do have all the content of this version of the cards put in tables...but they are far from the real card design that should be. The card design is only about 80% clear so far.

I agree about that personal part. Awesome idea!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68608.97
ETH 3280.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74