PowerHouseCreatives Contest- I got the Paw World in my HandssteemCreated with Sketch.

in ART LOVERS4 years ago

8404l0.png
That's our cat named Yoda Who I love

What are our hands for? I will never forget what one of our instructors told us during our University years, he always kept reiterating to us that "We are extension of God's healing hands". I am actually a Physical Therapist by profession, I finally got what he meant when I started handling my own patients. In my profession we are doing our best to heal people who have have illnesses. One thing that I love about my profession is whenever I see progress. It's the most fulfilling feeling.
988r7c.png

I remember that I treated a stroke patient who was bed ridden, little by little I had to work him up and mobilize him. This is what I did and our usual routine whenever we treat someone who is bed ridden wit the clearances of the doctors, from lying down to the gradual high back rest to Long sitting then short sit dangling on the bed, from there we progress them to short sitting outside of the bed and then wheelchair rides, when we do wheelchair rides we usually bring them to the rehab to use the parallel bars. When we are inside the parallel bars that is where we make them start standing and when our patient becomes more confident in himself we make them do weight shifting exercises, marching in place and other balance tolerance exercises and we make them walk( We usually check if they need an assistive device like a walker or a cane. and progress them to stair negotiation. This is what we usually say during stair negotiation, Good foot goes to heaven and bad foot goes to hell, this means that whenever we let them climb stairs, we let them step up with the stronger limb before bringing up the weaker limb and when they go down, the first step will always be the weaker limb then the stronger one.

Here are some other uses for my hands. I usually use it to measure food whenever the portion is huge haha.
xd2gyj.png
entmi9.png
g8w493.png
This contest got me thinking what would happen if we didn't have hands. I think it's one of the most important body part that we need for us to function.

qekmbb.png

Thanks for reading and have a great day!

EARN BITCOIN CASH BY CREATING AN ACCOUNT HERE AND POSTING

Animation by @zord189

PHC-Footer-05.gif

text15.png

Please support @surpassinggoogle as a witness by voting him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" at the first search box.

You can also give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses again and type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.

I also want to thank @atongis, @jackramsey, @plankton.token @rynow, @otom,@blocktrades ,@jaynie, @bayanihan, @veryspider, @ocdb @steemitbloggers and @dynamicsteemians
for all your support


Buy/Trade Cyrptocurrency:
KUCOIN
Binance
BitMex- Leverage Trading

Need something transcribed or want to become a transcriber click on the banner
banner

text16.png


Join Plankton token for daily rewards and curation
gif created by @gerber

Sort:  
 4 years ago 

I dont think many of us contemplate what it would be like if we didnt have hands.we simply take them for granted a lot of the time.

This is a super entry to the contest @sgbonus.

!tip

I remember my cousin said to me before that he'd rather die than live without hands. I guess we are blessed to have hands and we should be a blessing to others with it. Thank you so much for dropping by and for the tip

🎁 Hi @sgbonus! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @jaynie!

@jaynie wrote lately about: 101 Steem Stories! Feel free to follow @jaynie if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

 4 years ago 

Every now and then I will taunt my boys to eat their food without their hands. I offered up $20 once to my oldest to eat his entire meal at a restaurant doglike. He declined. Your measuring your food by hand got me to thinking of this.

That's still an awfully cute kitty. 😊

Oh cool that sound like a cool challenge but I guess I would also decline if it was in a public place haha

Yep I agree with you, he such a cute kitty. I hope when he grows old he would still be kind. Thanks for dropping by

You have blessed hands that can heal! Thank you for sharing your life experience :)

Thank you so much! May you have a great day ahead!

AH! Your kitten is so cute!
What a wonderful profession to be in, helping to heal others!
The story you told reminds me of my days in rehab learning to walk again after a car accident! Thank goodness for physiotherapists!
Thanks for sharing!

Oh, yes he really is. He's growing already. I hope he'll be a kind one.

I'm glad you were able to walk again, I bet you had an awesome time with your physiotherapist.

Thanks for dropping by :)

Have a great day

And your hands are not only important to you, they are also so important to all of your patients you've helped over the years and those still to be helped!

Great post!

Thank you so much for dropping by! I will surely continue using my hands to heal others.

Have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65035.33
ETH 2950.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66