PowerHouseCreatives Contest: Snow Blindness

in ART LOVERS5 years ago

My entry to the PHC contest by @zord189.

The prompt - I spy with my little eye something..... Bright.

There is not much brighter than light reflected by the sun off ice or snow. A condition caused by this overexposure to UV (ultraviolet light) is called Snow Blindness.

One doesn’t think of damage to the eye by looking at snow but summer or winter hours of bright sunlight from the beach or ski slope can cause damage by burning the eye surface.

There’s plenty of snow here in Eastern Canada this morning. Another day when the shops and schools are closed. I was just notified the cribbage tournament for tonight is canceled due to the inclement weather.

Snow, bright or not, does not stop the Blue Jays from coming for their breakfast.

Here’s a Blue Jay waiting patiently, hanging on the edge of the barn. It’s snowing and he found a spot on the roof where the snow hasn’t reached,

6763E03F-9761-4833-9BA1-2B4365600A57.jpeg


Birds are smart and this Blue Jay is a bit of an acrobat as he hangs on the the side of the deck railing.

536883CD-CE2D-47B2-B457-8413D1BADD43.jpeg


This one made me laugh when the wind turned his crown feathers into what I call a rooster’s tail.


E5BF36D6-FCB1-42CC-9805-94B0327186BF.jpeg


Not much sun when the Blue Jays came by but as the morning processed I could see it behind the trees.

By late morning I spy with my little eye the sun peeking through the snow clouds. This is when sun glasses or googles are good to protect your eyes if you are going outside, especially skiing , snowshoeing, snowplowing or for long periods.

9A403610-5FD0-429E-9EF5-CC7C69B6DAAA.jpeg



If you suspect you have snow blindness it’s advisable to rest your eyes for a few days. A doctor would probably prescribe pain relief pills or antibiotic eye drops. Not usually but if you have been exposed for a long period there could be permanent eye damage.

💗 Thanks for stopping by to visit my post and remember to let your inner light shine brightly everywhere you go. ❤️

Location: Prince Edward Island, Canada

Camera: iPad Air





#thealliance




PHC-Footer-05.gif



A8EFE277-2B2B-402A-A2F3-2F3A28E2159C.jpeg

Sort:  

Such an excellent shot Jo, I love the little bird's colour.

Thanks Angie! 💗 They stand out nicely against the snow.

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS Power House Creatives family!
upvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

#powerhousecreatives
JOIN US HERE
FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! 💕

 5 years ago 

Gorgeous shot of your little friend! I love bluejays! Surprisingly, this is one of the few places I have lived where I don't see them. I do see cardinals in plenty, so I am surprised!

Snow blindness is very real and I am glad you said something about it, although most who live in tundra country are aware, but, when I didn't know, I was given a brief on it while skiing up in Canada.

Hey you! Good luck in the contest!

!tip

Thanks so much Denise and for the good luck wishes! 💗 The beautiful blue Jays are always around no matter what the weather. They add a nice splash of color against the white snow.

So true that unless you live with a snow season you don’t always know about the dangers of bright snow causing blindness.

There been a lot of snow falling the last two days but rain is in the forecast.

🎁 Hi @redheadpei! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Monochrome Discovers Musing Monday Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

 5 years ago (edited)

Bluejays are exceptionally pretty, always enjoy posts of snow with brightly coloured birds enjoying the big white outdoors.

Imagine neglecting your eyes when outdoors, never seeing the beauty in nature, eye protection is a must, good you mention it not something everyone thinks about.

Hi Joan! 💕 The Blue Jays don’t seem to mind the snow. Hubby shovelled off the back deck so they could pick at the food I give them with snow in it.

Our eyes are so important, we need to protect them as much as possible.

Now that last picture really does belong on a chocolate box and the punky little blue jay with the mohawk is classic.

Thanks @dierdyweirdy! I’m glad you liked the photos. I got a charge out of the punk rocker Blue Jay too. 😂

 5 years ago 

These are so beautiful. Love the blue jay clinging to things. The colorful birds stand out so well in the bright light and white of snow. They surprise me every single year.

Thanks @owasco. 💞 The blue jays are entertaining. I’m happy you loved their performances. 😂

Beautiful pictures!
Good captures of the bluejay - snow or not!
Love your image of the sun rising in that beautiful winter scene!
Lovely entry!
Thanks for sharing!

Thanks @porters for your lovely comments. 😊 💕

This is a beautiful photo of the sunrise slowly coming out from behind the pine trees. That's a site to remember and sign of there is always light if we look hard enough.

Thanks Ireen @ireenchew! I like your philosophy. ❤️

 5 years ago 

I love Blue Jays. Really pretty birds. Blue also happens to be one of my favourite colours, along with most of the other colours :)

Hi WW. Blue is one of my favorite colors. 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64210.52
ETH 2627.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76