Photo 52 - 2020 Photo Challenge - Week 1 - Me, Myself and I...

in ART LOVERS5 years ago

With the New Year - 2020 @wwwiebe bought in a new Photo Challenge!
A new Account @photo52 was created specifically for the challenge. The introductory post for this Photo52 Challenge Post can be found here Come and join in!

Theme for Week 1 is - Selfies I'm not a big fan of selfies but this is an introductory selfie for the contest so I have a couple to share.

In the first selfie I wanted to capture the effects of being out in the -30 degree Celsius weather. No one wanted to be out in that cold to take my picture so I took a selfie just before coming in to the warm radiant heat of the wood fire which quickly melted away the frost and took the chill out of my bones!

Coming in From the -30 Celsius Winter Day

cold and snow making me frosted.JPG

text16.png

The other selfie I wanted to share was taken when I needed a photo for the back of my book which I had a deadline for. I wanted a photograph by the plum tree which was in full blossom. I needed to take the photo when the light was right so the sun didn't bleach out the white blossoms or cast too many shadows on me. My husband took a few shots but he really wasn't into it and the photos were not to my satisfaction.

What to do?

I was losing my light (actually shade) and the plum blossoms would not be on the tree much longer.

Time for a selfie!

I figured out how to set the self timer and without a tripod or proper stand I set the camera up on the flower box. This meant I had to adjust my height to fit in the camera frame, but I was game.

The first few shots were okay but not quite what I wanted so I tried again this time going right back among the plum trees (that is no easy feat for the plum branches have nasty spikes on them). My hair got caught in a branch but other than that it was fine. My husband said "It just gives your hair that wild windswept look!" so I cropped it and used it in the back section of my book covers.

Original Selfie of Me Among the Plum Trees - Uncropped

Me in the plum blossoms ready to edit portrait.jpg

Cropped Version for Back of Book Cover

Patrice portrait in plum blossoms best.jpg

Same Photo on Back Cover of My Book

back cover Bringing Out the Potential of Children Gardeners 6.25 x 9.5 inches 315 dpi.jpg

You can find all my books on Amazon or in my Homesteaders Coop store (where you can purchase using STEEM) - Porters Place

For those of you who are observant you will see it is my profile picture here on Steemit too!

Photos taken with my Canon PowerShot A495

text16.png

Thanks for stopping by!


Proud member of @naturalmedicine, @homesteaderscoop, @tribesteemup, @ecotrain, @freedomtribe, @earthtribe & @steemitbloggers



Discover previous ecoTrain magazines at @ecoTrain plus news on the Eco-Village at www.ecovillages.io



MindfulLife.gif
Discord About

PHC-Footer-05.gif


Visit my store - Porters Place at https://homesteaderscoop.com/store/porters-place/

Grateful for the curation and support of @tribesteemup

Sort:  

Feliz año se ve muy bien su foto en la contraportada de su libro, espero esté año este lleno de éxitos.

Very nice photo, !DERANGED

Posted using Partiko Android

You look gorgeous specially in the first. You got very beautiful eyes.
Enjoy!

 5 years ago 

You have been given a PHOTOFT TOKEN of appreciation for entering the PHOTO52 contest!

deranged You just received DERANGED @porters Keep up the great work, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com

 5 years ago 

Fantastic! I'll admit that I am a little partial to winter pictures. I miss the snow!

Children show an amazing resilience when it comes to knowledge. If they have an interest in a topic, they'll pick it up quickly. The best time to teach them anything is when they begin to show an interest.

Excellent photos, and excellent topic for a book.

Thank-you! That was my hope to be able to pass on some of my passion and knowledge of gardening (topic of this volume) with the hope that a parent or caregiver may pick it up and pass it on to a youngster who is showing an interest!

Happy New Year! Successes for this year. The pictures are very good, you look beautiful.

Lovely photos @porters. 😊

Omg !! Taking a selfie at -30 degrees ?!
OMG !! Now, that's a challenge alright

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66