Of Hands, JJ and Power Pats - PowerHouseCreatives Contest

in ART LOVERS4 years ago

Understand something about JJ, a stray cat who came in from the wild adopting us, and his story as he was beginning to be accepted by our cats. Our cats (which we had five at the time JJ arrived) would get morning treats. I offered JJ a small bowl of food when I fed our other cats, thinking he would be hungry but to my surprise he was starved for affection more than food! He left the food and came for a pat. After that he became part of our family and was transformed from a cat use to living out in the wild, to a big cuddle cat! Let me show you what I mean...

Now keep in mind that JJ has had to fend for himself out in the wild for a period of time and has quite a tough side but give him some affection and that soon melts away!

It has become a routine for JJ, every morning and evening, to get what I call a Power Pat with lots of petting and scratches. If you get it just right he may even begin to purr (something he had to learn from his older buddy Bobby, who was a master purrer but alas is no longer with us.)

JJ Just Starting to Accept His Power Pat

jj looking at me just accepting my hand reaching to scratch him.JPG

JJ Warming Up to Power Pat

JJ content getting a chin scratch.JPG

JJ Leaning Into Power Pat

JJ leaning into my hand looking so content.JPG

Ear Scratches Feel Good to JJ

JJ enjoying an ear scratch.JPG

JJ, a couple of summers ago, had been attacked by something and was wounded on his back end. I had noticed he wasn't coming down for breakfast and seemed rather lethargic, hanging out in the loft above the kitchen. I went to check on him and saw his wound which I cleaned as best as I could and gave him lots of loving. JJ had seemed to be recovering then took a turn for the worst. It was a puncture wound and my neighbor had told me about losing their cat to an abscessed wound. We thought we were going to loose JJ! My thinking was that although the wound had closed over it must have been abscessing so I began a routine of apply hot, wet compresses with hydrogen peroxide to the area and sure enough it broke and the puss began to flow out. JJ felt better and came down finding a box with some papers in it, his security spot. As the wound abscess was draining a lot of pus I kept putting in clean papers to keep the wound clean along with continuing giving regular hot compresses. Soon the pus was gone and JJ healed but I think that area had some scar tissue in it for he loves to have that area scratched. Look at the picture below to see what I mean...

JJ "That's the Spot!"

JJ with funny look getting his rear scratched.JPG

JJ is quite a different cat after a Power Pat session!

JJ Quite Content After Power Pat

my arm reaching to pet JJ who sits with content look.JPG

These photos illustrate the power of our hands to transfer affection and show some love! It is my entry to this weeks Power House Creatives Contest - The World In Our Hands Details here

One more thing about JJ - he doesn't like having his photo taken so he has one last word for us...

Enough With the Photos Already!

petting JJ as he meows.JPG

Photos were taken with my Canon PowerShot SX60 HS

Thanks for stopping by!


Proud member of @naturalmedicine, @homesteaderscoop, @tribesteemup, @ecotrain, @freedomtribe, @earthtribe & @steemitbloggers



Discover previous ecoTrain magazines at @ecoTrain plus news on the Eco-Village at www.ecovillages.io



MindfulLife.gif
Discord About

PHC-Footer-05.gif


Visit my store - Porters Place at https://homesteaderscoop.com/store/porters-place/

Grateful for the curation and support of @tribesteemup

Sort:  

Yup, they have away of getting the message across alright! I am glad the puncture wound healed well, Those can get nasty fast!

Our 19 year old cat is much more into power naps than power pats. :))

Ha! That's funny about your 19 year old cat being into power naps more than power pats!
Power naps is another thing cats do very well - cat naps!

Congratulations @porters! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 400 posts. Your next target is to reach 450 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

JJ definitely holds an important member in the family and its nice to see how he fits in so well.
Both of you know one another by the touch and it shows the love in his eyes too

 4 years ago 

Cats are truly amazing creatures!

 4 years ago 

hahaha I love that term "power pat"!

JJ is adorable!

!tip

Glad it gave you a chuckle! Thank-you for the tip!

 4 years ago 

Pleasure love xxx Hope you have a great weekend!

🎁 Hi @porters! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @jaynie!

@jaynie wrote lately about: 101 Steem Stories! Feel free to follow @jaynie if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

JJ was a wise cat to find his way to your home! We could all do with Power Pats at times not so. I've heard people who live alone say how they miss physical contact, we really under estimate the power of touch! Lucky JJ!

Posted using Partiko Android

How true! Physical touch and that show of affection is somewhat of a need for humans to thrive! That and love!

 4 years ago 

Aw, what a happy looking kitty! He looks so content with you!

Aaaaaw this is so so tender, how powerful our hands are. What a beautiful story. Thanks a lot for sharing!

Awww, I love the story of JJ, and how you take care of him and give him "power pat." You have a huge heart for these little fellow. ❤ I salute, how you personally took care of him when he was attacked, giving him hot and wet compress.

And lastly, I had a good laugh with the ending! 😂😂

Glad you enjoyed it and it gave you a chuckle!

Heheh. Oh yes. 😁

What a sweet cat JJ @poters.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65992.78
ETH 3014.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75