Power House Creatives Contest: A chili recipe you can use to win a cook-off!

in ART LOVERS4 years ago (edited)

IMG_1917.JPG

Here in the U.S., chili is a big deal. I would love to hear from you about what it's like in your area (U.S., elsewhere in North America, Central/South America or abroad), as to whether chili has cultural importance. Here there are chili cook-off events that you can take part in. The recipe I'm going to share with you here helped me win a chili cook-off at my job, among about 30 entries.

We like to gauge chili by its heat levels, but in my book heat is not what it's all about. The real deal is flavor. I do like my chili to have a "kick" to it, and I spice it up accordingly. But my feeling is that heat without well-rounded flavor is just not as enticing.

The Recipe

You can find the original recipe I used on Food.com in a recipe called "Not for Sissies: Red Hot Chili Crockpot Chil." But naturally, I made it my own. I add a LOT of spice. The secret to great chili, from my point of view, is lots of garlic, cumin, oregano and high quality chili powder. Note that the spice amounts in the ingredients listed below are approximations. I do not measure them, as you will see.

1 lb bacon, cut up in small chunks
2.5 lbs ground beef
3-4 (1 lb) cans kidney beans
1 (28 ounce) can crushed tomatoes
1 or 2 cans of diced tomatoes
12 ounces tomato paste
2 onions, finely chopped
6 Tbsp chili powder
1 Tsp cayenne pepper (dry powder)
4 Tbsp garlic powder
4 Tbsp ground cumin
2 Tbsp oregano
1 Tbsp paprika
Hot sauce to taste
Salt to taste

Assemble Your Ingredients


Here are some pictures for what I pulled together (other than the bacon and beef). A lot of it was stuff I had in my pantry. In fact, I happened to have black beans but not kidney beans, so that's what I used. It turned out great.

The recipe is not fussy. And you pretty much can't mess it up!

IMG_1911 - Copy.JPG

IMG_1910 - Copy.JPG

IMG_1909 - Copy.JPG

Put It All Together

The steps are pretty simple using a crockpot:

  1. Cook the beef, bacon and onions.
  2. Put the beef, bacon, onions and beans in the crockpot.
  3. Mix in all the tomato products and spices.
  4. Start it up and cook on high for about 5-6 hours or low for 10-12 hours.

IMG_1908 - Copy.JPG

IMG_1912 - Copy.JPG

Spices!

IMG_1915 - Copy.JPG

Cumin!

Flavor Tips

As I mentioned, the spice amounts are approximations. It might seem like a lot of spice, but I find that it does take quite a bit to make chili really flavorful. I showed the pictures above so you can see what it looks like. I don't measure the spices. I just chuck a lot on and stir it in. And then, a while before I am going to serve it, I actually add more garlic, cumin and chili powder.

That last step is what helped me to win the contest. My chili was the most flavor-packed one there!

Thanks so much for checking out my recipe. And thank you to @zord189 for running the contest and allowing me a small grace period!

Animated signature

Join Steem to monetize your blog


steempresslogo.jpg

Join via Steempress.io Earn money from your Wordpress blog. Get started here.

 
actifitlogo.png

Join Steem via Actifit Get inspired to move daily, get fit and earn by sharing your progress. Get started here. Or find full instructions here.

 

Steem Logo

Join via Steem.com You can also go direct to Steem (but note that it can take a few weeks to complete the process). Get started here.

Find Steem Communities


There are many Steem communities that provide education and support, and reward engagement and high quality content. Here are a few examples. Click the logos to join them on Discord:

Power House Creatives Logo

The Alliance logo

The Alliance: Join us in the Castle

Actifit logo

steempress-logo-complete.jpg

Wait, What Is Steem?


Steem is a social blockchain that grows communities and makes immediate revenue streams possible for users by rewarding them for sharing content. It's currently the only blockchain that can power real applications via social apps like Steemit.

Sort:  

That looks great, but I am the only person in my family that would be able to eat it :)

Uh-oh! Are they vegetarians are spice-averse? Maybe you will just need to make it when you’re hosting a gathering. 😁

Thank you so much for the curation support, @tarazkp!

Wife has no gallbladder, daughter allergies. It means I eat bad tasting food. :D

No worries, I add when I can :)

Ahhh, that would put a crimp on things, then. I would be sneaking out of the house on pretend errands to surreptitiously get some spicy Thai food! 😆

!ENGAGE 20



@jayna you have received 20 ENGAGE from @tarazkp!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

 4 years ago 

I have never used bacon, but, I use Rotel hot tomatoes in thete! Instead of the crushed adds more kick and less tomato taste.

I love chili! And yes. Almost any bean will do!

!tip

Oh that sounds yummy, @dswigle! I would love your recipe. Sometimes I think there are as many ways to make chili as there are people in the world. 😁

Thank you so much for the tip!

 4 years ago 

Yes!! My pleasure!

That looks really delicious, Jayna!

Thank you very much, @zeleiracordero. Let me know if you try it.

Hola @jayna. Esa receta parece picante pero se ve muy bien.

¡Espero que lo disfruten, @antoniarhuiz!

Ooh @jayna, I sure do love chili!! I'll be trying out your recipe soon, thanks so much for sharing <3

Wonderful. I look forward to hearing how you like it, @joeylim!

My mouth is watering right now. Just shared this with my wife in hopes when she wakes up that she will start putting it together.

If not, I may have to put lives at risk to try and cook this!

Ha ha. Well it might actually be worth it! It is honestly the best chili I have ever eaten in my life. Good luck and let me know if you succeed in getting it made one way or another!

🎁 Hi @jayna! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Musing Along Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Congratulations @jayna! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85