My Beach House - Power House Creatives Contest

in ART LOVERS4 years ago

As we head into the New Year, it's time to think about new beginnings and shake the dust off of our lives. But it's not just a new year. It's a new decade. It is like a blank notebook to fill with dreams of what might be possible, and the blueprints for bringing them to life.

The latest Power House Creatives contest invites us to imagine and dream.

You move into this new place; write about how you would decorate the place and tell us about your surroundings. Why would you want the living room to be orange? Or blue? Would you be moving into the city or the outskirts?
At the same time, my husband and I have begun talking about where we want to live next. The kids are growing up and moving out, and it won't be long before our home feels too big for us. We will never leave Minnesota, but in the winter we dream of getting away somewhere warm for at least a month or so. Sometimes we think about buying a second home where we can visit anytime and rent it out for parts of the year to cover the costs.

And so, here is my dream house — my get-away for the cold winter months.

Bringing My Beach House to Life


Beach houses Image source: Pixabay

My dream beach house is located somewhere in Southern California, near San Diego. There it is, that one three houses from the left with the special turret on top where I will watch the setting sun. Or perhaps that is where I will have my writing retreat, in a room filled with light.

Writing Desk Image source: Pixabay

The Sitting Room


There will be beach tones everywhere — the colors of waves and seagulls and sand. And yes, there will be a cat, soaking up the rays of sunshine and calling for tuna.

Living Room with Cat Image source: Pixabay

The Living Room


The living room is where we will entertain. I really hope all the people in those neighboring beach houses become friends! Because we love to have people over for an evening of wine and chatter, or some cards. (Pay no attention to those leafy trees out the windows. Those do not belong at the beach!)

Living room Image source: Pixabay

The Sun Porch


The sun porch will be wonderful for entertaining, or for going to read a book on a lazy afternoon. The light will pour in through big bay windows, and on the most pleasant days, we will open the windows to let in the ocean breeze.

Sun Porch Image source: Pixabay

The Kitchen and Dining Room


Light will pour into the kitchen, as well, which will be perfect for my shelf full of succulents.

Window garden Image source: Pixabay

Kitchen Image source: Pixabay

The formal dining room will be large enough to have a table that expands so that all of our relatives can come for dinner!

Dining room Image source: Pixabay

Also, there will be a small kitchen dining area for simple meals or light breakfasts, when it's just the two of us.

Dining area Image source: Pixabay

The Bedrooms


Of course the bedrooms will also be done in beach colors, giving them a soft and elegant look that makes you feel calm and relaxed and ready for sleep the moment you walk in.

Elegant Bedroom Image source: Pixabay

Bedroom Image source: Pixabay

The Patio


Ah yes, the outdoors! On cool nights (and it is almost always cool at night in San Diego) we will have a nice fire going, and can sit and enjoy a glass of wine together and listen to music. I'm thinking some reggae would set the right mood for an enjoyable evening!

Patio Image soure: Pixabay

And that is it, my friends. My dream beach house. What are you dreaming of? What would you really like for your life, or for the world, in the coming decade? I encourage you to visualize it, to dream of great things, and to manifest your beautiful future.

Cheers and thanks for reading!

Pina Colada Image source: Pixabay

Animated signature

Want to monetize your blog?

Here are two ways to get started with Steem:
Join Steem via Steempress.io Earn money by blogging. Get started by using this referral link.

Join Steem via Actifit Get inspired to move every day, get fit and earn money by sharing your progress. Click this referral link to get started. Or find full instructions here.

Join the communities:

Sort:  

A beautiful beach home @jayna. I think I could get used to living there. 😊

Yes, it would make a nice retreat, wouldn’t it?

 4 years ago 

I love your dream, but, as an owner of several rental homes, you are better off renting someplace for a month or two furnished than to rent/repair/taxed to death your house.

I have done that for many years and even though it paid off a few years back when lean times come, or you get a bad tenant, wow! Of course, none of that happened to me, but, it could have.

Anyway, great write!

!tip

Thanks, @dswigle. It is unlikely to happen for the reasons you mentioned. But this is a dream, not an exercise in fiscal responsibility. 😁

 4 years ago 

Haha! Yes!!! I got all wrapped up in it. I did know it was a dream, just hoping it wasn't a dreaming reality.

Ha ha! Yes, just my imagination and Pixabay working in cahoots! 😁

I just love your new beach home. Can I come to visit. I promise to leave after the weekend is over. If not, I can park my RV on the side, lol.

Such a beautiful beach area. I love the beach, and those beach homes look exactly like where I was considering buying many years ago.

Ha ha, yes, of course! Come visit my dream home. There is plenty of room, so you don't even need to stay in your RV! Thanks for indulging my beach house fantasy, @justclickindiva!

Ok, just let me know when. And I don't have any pets, so I won't be a bother. But I do have fishing equipment, and if you guys promise to go fishing with me, all will be well in paradise at the beach.

And then you guys can come visit us in our log cabin. there's another room just like the one overlooking the mountains that you can have so you can write your blogs.

Whew...what a dream. might as well go big or go home, lol.

 4 years ago 

@jayna - love the beach house - can't wait to drop by for an evening of wine, music, socializing, and cards! We can have the Block Party at your house!

Yes, that’s a wonderful idea! Actually I would love it if it ended up in San Diego. And it sure would be convenient for @mariannewest!

your dream home really looks beautiful. moreover it is located by the beach. it's really a very nice dream home. You are right, that this is not a new year. but a new decade to start the life to come.

Thanks very much, @aulia1993! May you have a wonderful decade ahead.

This is really nice and I do agree that once the boys are older and have their own path.. it's then time for us to plan for our own home.
Love the colours you're inspiring for your home.
Makes me want to dream of mine too

Yes, we should all dream of what we really want in life!

May I move into your beach house? I know we’ve never met, but I could totally look after the place when you are at home in Minnesota. 😁🙃🎉

Ha ha. Sure!! I will need someone to look after it when I'm not there. I hope you like cats.

 4 years ago 

Hahah! OMG! I laughed so hard when I read this!

!tip

Hee hee. I’m glad that made you laugh, @dswigle!

🎁 Hi @dfinney! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: On The Fourth Day Of Christmas Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Pretty home @jayna 💕

!trdo

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @wonderwop, you successfuly trended the post shared by @jayna!
@jayna will receive 0.00106313 TRDO & @wonderwop will get 0.00070875 TRDO curation in 3 Days from Post Created Date!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

🎁 Hi @jayna! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: On The Fourth Day Of Christmas Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Congratulations @jayna! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10000 comments. Your next target is to reach 11000 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70765.98
ETH 3797.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.46