'PowerHouseCreatives Contest' - Ready, Set, Write: Which Prompt Did I Pick?

in ART LOVERS4 years ago

For this week's Powerhousecreatives contest I am choosing the sentence: "The cemetery was rather quiet on my annual visit."

cemetery.jpg

Image Source- Pixabay-Katrina_S

I mulled over the six sentence options for quite some time this morning and actually changed my mind four times before settling on this one.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

The cemetery was rather quiet on my annual visit. I don't come here often enough as you can tell. Once a year is just not enough. I could make every excuse under the sun like I've been working too many hours, I am exhausted by the time I get home or the weekends are spent doing various errands and chores... but those aren't justified.

Does not coming here more frequent make me a bad person? That question pops into my head whenever I feel maudlin.

photo-1465405319612-e87fd78c23f6.jpg

Image Source- Unsplash- Eli DeFaria

To be completely honest, coming here can be relaxing at times; especially as it is now. Quiet. Serene. And sometimes I can let go of the feeling that I have been dismissive of the purpose of coming here at all.

I like to be alone. But I'm not fully alone. Hints of life surround me here.

I can hear birds chirping in the distance. I can see the trees' leaves blowing in the gently wind creating a sputtering hiss. I can feel the breeze as it gently brushes across my cheek and face.

Every so often a chipmunk can be seen dashing from a tree to another hiding place.

As I dig my hands into the cook grass, trimming away weeds, or when I replace the annual flowers I plant near the headstone, I am overcome with a tranquility from deep within my soul.

Perhaps if I really made an effort to come more frequent I wouldn't feel this dismal. I need to strive to do that; and to hold myself accountable when I don't do that.

The person's name on the headstone is just as familiar to me as it is a mystery to me. I don't even know this person. Never met them.

But I had heard about this person. They were to be buried alone. They were not having a funeral service. They had no family. They were all alone in this world when their life ended.

I had heard about the funeral service on the news on morning. Sad, I know. This person had no one in the world to call their own and apparently the funeral home contacted the news about it. Newscasters made pleas to the general public for their attendance, as they felt the same as I do, no one deserves to be alone.

So I attended the funeral five years; with hundreds of other people. Then I came to the cemetery to watch this person's casket being lowered into the ground.

Not a day goes by that I didn't think of this person over the last five years. But I just can never come out here more than once a year. It's heart breaking really. This person died alone and was almost buried without anyone around to say goodbye, and here I am preferring to be alone while I am still living.

So I feel as though I have a connection to this person; even though we never made each others' acquaintance in life. We are alone... together.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

For the entire contest rules and information see this link

Contest and winnings only open to PowerHouseCreatives' members.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Find Me On BitChute

luvbug.png

TIBLogo


This post was made from https://ulogs.org

.

Sort:  

Hi @goldendawne, a modest tip of appreciation:
$trendotoken and !trendovoter .
Also, please check out my Second Nonsense Writing Contest.
Thanks!

Congratulations @rycharde, 5.13% upvote has been shared with your successful call on the post that shared by @goldendawne!


Support @trendotoken projects by delegating : 100SP , 200SP , 500SP , 1000SP , 2000SP

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.979 which ranks you at #1192 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 4 places in the last three days (old rank 1196).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 101 contributions, your post is ranked at #22.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

What a lovely gesture to visit this person’s gravesite. It is a sad story that they died alone but so many people responded it is heartwarming.

Beautiful story, @goldendawne. It is sad and poignant, but also there is an uplifting element to it, for me, that the narrator of the story and the deceased have a kind of bond, and for that annual visit day, neither is alone.

A beautiful, heartwarming story. Was this by any chance a veteran? Whether it was or not, yours was an act of concern and kindness, and I thank you for your continuing concern for this forgotten person.

Your story brings us a lesson in solidarity, the approach is strange, but the motivation is touching. I liked it very much.
Greetings, @goldendawne!

I gotta get back on the boat with these writing contests again! Busy life with a one year old now but feels good to be back on Steemit!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56