I Hereby Resolve! – (PowerHouseCreatives Contest) – It’s That Time of Year Again

in ART LOVERS5 years ago

I Hereby Resolve!

I completely understand the concept and tradition of our deciding to focus on improving some aspect of ourselves in some way that, if followed, no sane person would dispute would be beneficial to us, our health, and our lives. The resolution has never been part of my life beyond acknowledging the novelty of the idea however.

So, without actually doing any research, my personal guess is that the whole New Year’s resolution idea was conceived by some ancient religious or cultist leaders for use in some fairly ancient ritual, and the process has been modified here and there down through the centuries.


I would probably even make a sizable bet on my theory being true if the odds were right. Probably some end of year “cleansing” ritual preceded it, and maybe even psychedelic substances were involved.

So the next day, the first day of the New Year, (their knowledge that it was the new year was likely gained from observing the sky and heavenly bodies), and after they’d returned to reality after their peyote trip, they probably felt they should make a promise of how they would now change themselves to please their gods, with a fresh and “clear” mind.

I have not seen or read my descriptions that I’ve written or possibly will write here concerning ancient humans anywhere before writing them, and I haven’t seen or heard anyone describing the accompanying scenarios I offer, which in my theory, involves the ancient humans that I have introduced and written about.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

What some ancient humans possibly started and later some druids possibly wrote about, is possibly why the New Year’s resolution was created in the first place. The difference would be that back in that time period, those making New Year’s resolutions would be fully committed to sticking by them, and many of them likely gave it all they had, to see the resolution through to success.

It was surely also mandatory to make a resolution if one wanted to retain the respect of the rest of the people involved with the religion, cult or whatever we want to call their group, as they were all holding to the same beliefs and likely took them very seriously, just as many (but not all) of us do today.

If I was alive at that time and the same kind of person that I am today, I would most likely treat my New Year’s resolution with respect, and would not only create one, but I would work hard to see it through to success because it would have had meaning, and expectations of what I must do.

I would have felt an obligation then that has never once entered my mind in this life.

I don’t think that my life’s been negatively affected because I’ve never made a New Year’s resolution. I think what happened to me as far as the resolution is concerned, is that I was exposed to people who knew it was more or less a scam. They planted the thought and I’ve carried it with me ever since.

And the reason I can’t make a New Year’s resolution isn’t even that I feel like I’m perfect and therefore need no resolution to force myself to make myself better.

I think what I’ve done was, instead of making a yearly resolution, I've made a habit of being aware of myself; my health, my endurance, my speed, my priorities, my… whatever I cared about, about myself and my life, and on a moment by moment basis.

The reality of New Year’s resolutions is that, because so few resolvers have ever seen them through, they’ve been rightfully classified for quite a long time now as something that has little chance of coming to fruition. It’s basically a joke.

But this is a PHC writing contest seeking my New Year’s resolution for 2020, and dammit, I’m going to make one, even though it’s my very first - ever.

Here is my personal New Year’s resolution for the year 2020 (which hopefully is the year ALL people stop saying Two Thousand and Twenty, and start saying “Twenty twenty, twenty twenty one, twenty twenty two,” etc.):

“I resolve to continue living my life with my same current values, beliefs and ideals; to continue accepting responsibility for taking care of my own mind and body, to continue feeling empathy for those in distress, human and animal, and finally, most of all - to continue enjoying life to the fullest.”

I Hereby Resolve! © free-reign 2019

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Posted with Twitter tags #posh & #steemit

Sources for images used in this post:

Resolution Planning: Image by USA-Reiseblogger from Pixabay
Washing Face (Cleansing): Image by Miguel Á. Padriñán from Pixabay
Writing My Plan: Image by Pexels from Pixabay
Resolution: PixabayImage by Pete Linforth from Pixabay


Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

Sort:  

Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha.... friend, that made me laugh. Well, the resolutions generally more than written, we have in mind.

Haha Yes! They usually are just in our minds, and not on paper! Thank you for reading and I'm glad you got a good laugh out of it! :)

 5 years ago 

So happy I have never, or possibly can never remember making a New Years resolution.

Mmake laws to break laws, have fun conjuring one up that you might stick to.... like eating a fruit every day LOL.

I know, right? I've always found it to be so silly, but I think the silliness might be the main attraction for those who do it!

 5 years ago 

Short answer.... (via good old Giphy)

Interesting! I never thought of where New Years resolutions may have originated from but just took it as a good way to reflect on your life and make some positive changes never worrying if i kept them or not.
I'm totally with you on your resolution (like it!) - Here's to a fulfilling life!

Thanks for reading my post and sorry it's taken me so long to reply. I just read yours a bit ago and I like yours too! If we're happy we must be doing something right! :)

Agreed! That is my marker if I am on the right path!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57673.98
ETH 2343.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37