You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Letting Go of the Old so You Have Space For the New: A Journey

in ART LOVERS4 years ago

I agree. I am all or keeping a lid on just how much I should devote to memories. I have donated some very cool pieces my dad had of signed and seal documents about early Connecticut. I loved them, but, realized their real place was a museum in the town I grew up in. Now, everyone can enjoy them. I have done much the same through the years, although I have kept some, many deserve to be cherished (or loaned in some instances) to museums. It has made a huge difference is sharing and storing.

And for the record, of course, financial need outweighs them all. You have looked at a dealer, correct? Sometimes they can get you better money and buy it outright.

Good luck! My thoughts and prayers are with you!

Sort:  

Thanks for the thoughtful comment and good wishes @dswigle!

Furtunately, I have been a "trader" of anything from paper collectibles to jewelry to antiques for pretty much my entire life, so the actual process is not particularly scary or daunting to me... There definitely are a few things we may sell though an auction house, but that's mostly so we can get their statement of "authenticity" on them. Collectors and antique lovers are funny about that stuff... on the whole, though, I tend to avoid "dealers" because they end up with most of the money... 30%, plus "expenses" and then they want the freedom to "mark it down" (usually for their colleagues) and by the time you're said and done, you end up with 30 cents on the dollar. At least with eBay, we get to keep 90-ish percent of the sales price...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68545.57
ETH 3900.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71