You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Special Times, Special Gifts for Food Fight Friday

in ART LOVERS4 years ago

Oh wow! Firstly, thanks for always throwing down at #fff, @lizelle, I see you making your rounds to each of the other chefs, too, you sure do play nice. Thanks, chef!

Second.. my goodness, what a treat it is around you for the holidays. Only grandmas can make Christmas candies, gotta be a grandma to pull that off. I haven’t had one for a long time, there was about 10 years between mine leaving and meeting Pura—she still have TWO grandmas!

Since we met, we’ve received Christmas candies and cookies in the mail, this will be either our 4th or 5th Christmas together but this is the first without the candy cuz we’re a few oceans away. Danget! But, as only grandmas can do, as well, she PayPal’d Pura a little extra cash this year to make up for it—Grandmas are the best!

Sort:  

Thanks @dandays, wish I was a real grandma but my sons will not oblige😫 but happy I can play grandma here on Steemit 👵 I so wanted to make something new this week but after having regular loadshedding I settled for a trip down memory lane.
My rose tinted spectacles are becoming tainted following a weekend in the dark (33 hours to be precise) as there was a blowout at an electrical substation AND we have guests here!!! We have emergency lights and a gas cooker but not much else! They were super understanding but one still feels responsible SO...the idea of selling and moving to a retirement village is becoming more and more appealing as our basic services like water, electricity and even waste are not being maintained. Sadly there's way too much nepotism in many instances in upper management in the municipalities, they don't manage at all so with poor leadership nothing is maintained! Sorry for venting @dandays, I will stop right there!
We have electricity today so I'm making another batch if mince pies. Wish I could send you some sweet treats from grandma Lizelle 🤗

@lizelle (grandma Lizelle) now you sound like my mother! She’d always drop subtle hints, “aren’t you gonna make a grandma?” ....”Nope!”

Nepotism, that’s common where I can from, too, specifically with municipalities and energy/water companies. The media manages to silence all of the group protests going on around the world all at the same time. Have been blessed to be in this position and touring as many parts of the world as we can, the same thing is happening everywhere—not just SA. It’s all coming to the forefront now.

Any ideas where you might go? I’m sure it’s an exhausting list, have you guys leaned heavier toward one place or another? I’m curious to know.

LOL I'm not pushing my sons but I kind of feel left out when all my friends talk about their grandchildren (plural) and I'm still waiting;)
We have our eyes on the upper South Coast of KZN, very well run village, solar geysers, rainwater tanks, 1/2/3 bedroom homes, still have privacy but maintenance is not our problem, tons of activities, medical care on site. Hubby however said he's certainly not going to be driving around in a little golf cart;) One buys life rights but get 100% back when you leave, or goes into the estate. Our names are on the 6-10 year waiting list.
Close friends are also on the list- we had such a giggle because someone told us about the old widows (most women outlive their men around here) who pounce on any man as soon as he's widowed. My friend said I'd be googling them, secretly take photos of them & we'd both be taking them all kinds of treats, her and I could end up having a hen's fight with our walking sticks, oh boy did we have a good laugh about that:) But seriously, I would not be interested in a grumpy old man and have to break bad old habits, NO THANK YOU;);)
So now I've written another long essay to you again🙈

So now I’ve written another long essay..

My kinda cane-whippin gal!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66041.52
ETH 3064.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69