You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: POETRY - The Priest of the Invisible

in ART LOVERS5 years ago

Jaynie, fantastic post. I want to offer a few things. This:

The moments are never planned or predetermined… I get completely enveloped by emotion – overwhelmed and consumed. Then, I write. The words are never strained, and they land one after the other in a completely seamless and symphonic manner. To me, those moments are pure blissful release, irrespective of the emotion ultimately depicted by the culmination of those individual characters.

reminds me of one of my favorite quotes about poetry. William Wordsworth said “Poetry is the spontaneous overflow of powerful feelings: it takes its origin from emotion recollected in tranquility.” For me, it is a way of processing those overwhelms, whether experienced as painful or pleasureful, and coming back to the center of who we truly are.

I read the quote, “The poet is the priest of the invisible” and it made complete sense to me. This is exactly how I experience it. Everything that is unseen – all the passion, hurt, desire, rage, love – all of it! In those moments, they all show themselves – speaking their truth through almost cryptic lyrics which display a yearning to be heard yet protected.

Poetry, again for me, is a straining at the bounds of usual language in order to express that which transcends ordinary speaking's ability to encompass the grandeur or grand-squalor of an inner state. There is a yearning to make oneself known, heard, and seen—not only to and by others, but most of all to oneself.

You write with evident passion, and I believe that is the truest prerequisite for a poet—to feel deeply. This likely extends to art in a more general sense, as creative products without heart are mere exercises in technical brilliance but do not touch us at great depth.

This

I want to feel
the satin of your world
against the skin of mine.

Was probably my favorite line out of all of them and a powerful conclusion to "Today I walked." Otherwise, I enjoyed the intensity and message of "Cognizant," and really sunk into the rhythm of "Salt on my lips." I want to acknowledge you for sharing all of these—says a lot that you are willing to share this part of yourself with us all :-)

Sort:  
 5 years ago (edited)

Thank you very much @d-pend. Coming from you, that means quite a lot!

one of my favorite quotes about poetry. William Wordsworth said “Poetry is the spontaneous overflow of powerful feelings: it takes its origin from emotion recollected in tranquility.”

I read that quote and it is incredibly apt. I actually considered inserting that one on top, but the other one spoke to me at the time that I wrote this yesterday... vibes and all ;)

it is a way of processing those overwhelms, whether experienced as painful or pleasureful

I really do believe that. And its an exceptionally effective method too.

the grandeur or grand-squalor of an inner state

hahaha! Well said! Sometimes it is both and other times I don't even know what is going on "in there".

I really value your input because the sharing of our "inner selves" with the world is probably one of the scariest things to do, but I have learnt over the years that despite the fear of scrutiny as time to publish approaches and drowning in the "should I have done this" doubts afterward - the positives and what you gain in terms of personal growth for braving both those fronts, far surpasses the negatives.

Whilst I share a lot of my other creative adventures here on the Steem blockchain - when I joined almost three years ago, I shared a LOT of extremely personal experiences - many which I had never shared with anyone before and I very quickly began to discover that not only did many people identify with a lot of what I shared... I also noticed that every time I did it, I felt like a ten ton weight had been lifted off my shoulders. It was incredibly healing. As is poetry.

Thank you again for your very kind reassurance and genuine (I like genuine) input.

Hope you didn't forget to hug a tree yesterday on your excursion :)

!tip

🎁 Hi @d-pend! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @jaynie!

@jaynie wrote lately about: 101 Steem Stories! Feel free to follow @jaynie if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56949.15
ETH 2401.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33