Double the trouble

in ART LOVERS4 years ago

Double the trouble


.
by @d-pend
.

Screen Shot 2020-02-17 at 1.39.54 PM.jpeg


Double the trouble


If there were two of me, not only one:
one would toil, one lay in the sun.
One would cook, and one frolic in glades;
one, the flowers pick, one till with spades.

One would pillars chisel, walls uplift,
the other, on the sleepy river drift.
One would take accounts and figure sums,
the other, take repasts and guzzle rums.

One would dream, the other, grueling, build
whatever whims the dreamer dreamt, unskilled
yet vivid in bright, delicate glass case—
the other coarse, their gentle curves erase.

If there were two, still lonely would I be?
For one would surely weep, the other flee.
Or one would dance vivacious, loudly laugh;
the other grumble, sullen at each gaffe.

The one would speak, the other listen not;
the first pestilence wreak, the second rot.
The one grow hale, the other while away,
the first twine glee around its twin's dismay.

The one a radiant glow, the other, dim,
reflect the glory of lush over-brim.
The first a victor, laden down with spoils,
the next a victim, second none in toils.

And now I find ideal—I'm only one;
That I myself not torture, slave, and shun!


Screen Shot 2020-02-17 at 1.49.44 PM.jpeg


Screen Shot 2020-02-17 at 2.13.58 PM 3.jpegScreen Shot 2020-02-17 at 2.13.58 PM 7.jpeg


Original writing and images
by Daniel J. Pendergraft
.
first published to STEEM
February 17th, 2020


Screen Shot 2020-02-17 at 2.13.58 PM 6.jpegScreen Shot 2020-02-17 at 2.13.58 PM 2.jpeg


Screen Shot 2020-02-17 at 2.13.58 PM.jpeg


Sort:  

Great to read you again, @d-pend. I like your new look, by the way.
I think that we have all entertained this what-if game.
I can identify with the duality presented. I think that deep down we all wish we were somehow different, closer to what people expect from us, if only we could still preserve our unavoidable self. The impossibility of such a feat leaves us with only imaginary possibilities of alternative selves who can live other lives and be and act differently

Hey, Henrry! That touches on something interesting, perhaps related to the (somewhat unquenchable) thirst for experience we all seem to have. Starting as a child, surrounding us physically as well as in imagination through books, television, and other media are near-infinite examples of what life might look like.

I have mused on the scenario many times, so that I can have one life as a linguist, one, a touring musician. Another might be a renunciant in an ashram, another, a brilliant physicist. One might be the shadowy leader of a criminal syndicate, another, a prophet. One, get married and have many children, the other, remain chaste. One, a dedicated hedonist, the other, strictly sattvic.

Alas, it is our destiny to have fragments of all these idealities in our very person, that paradox we call "myself."

Nice poem, and interesting subject. Do you lean more one way than the other? If so, which is the real you?

Hmmm, intriguing question! I lean towards the chaotic, creative side.... but there is something incredibly life-affirming about the level-headed, rational, systematic side as well. Necessary to find a balance, and integrate all those aspects of the persona into one, I think. What about you @free-reign?

For living my life, I would say that I'm all about the balance; maintaining a balance as much as possible, but naturally of course - not forced. I believe my military experience, which began when I was 18, changed me from being a clueless kid, into being a level-headed, rational and systematic man by default. Before enlisting in the army, I was just your ordinary, everyday immature smart-ass kid, just out of high school and looking for thrills.

Apparently simple, but it contains a knowledge of oneself, taken to a jocular level to show an ancestral wisdom adopted as a rule of life: There is no duality. This is an illusion. We are one, an expression of the perfect divinity that inhabits us. One who must discover, accept and love himself as he is, with sorrows and glories, with weaknesses, strengths, defects...

I always so value your wise reflection @zeleiracordero. नमस्ते — namaste — I see you.

 4 years ago 

Mirror talk, two halves make a whole, not too sure about another me. Definitely if it were possible taking a breather, letting go, being relaxed sounds like the goal.

Well written poetry.

Indeed. Finding a way to enjoy the seemingly repetitive tasks of life is a devotional practice, I think. Plus, as all royalty must find—It's lonely at the top! Some of my most cherished memories are doing the most simple work: cooking, cleaning, gardening, etc. Thank you for reading my piece @joanstewart!

 4 years ago 

Doing chores on auto-pilot putting your mind out to tinker with other ideas does allow for some comfort, a safety net where you know your way around.

 4 years ago 

Sounds like the story of my life haha!!! Welcome to the world of a Gemini! :D

Beautiful poetry as always @d-pend :)

Hope you have a terrific Tuesday!

Oh yea?! Lol. I'm glad you can relate @jaynie. Thank you so much for the PHC feature too <3

 4 years ago 

My absolute pleasure :)

I scanned some of your blogs and hey! Pictures (art) and poems! A really great show and everything very professionally done! I like it very much! I follow you! Have a nice day and best regards from Munich (Germany)!

Hey! Thank you so much for the support. I've followed you as well, stay active my friend! Regards from USA :-)

Sure and thank you too! Have a nice and active Sunday!

Nicely rhymed Daniel, I like the concept as well.
It is so good to see you back @d-pend

Thanks Jerry! Take care and appreciate the comment :-)

It's my pleasure Daniel. Be well.

Only one I is enough. If almost, we don't support each other. Imagine two. Hahaha

Hahaha, exactly!! :-D

Nicely crafted poetry here @d-pend, with an intriguing thought. Over my long life, I've been in more than one conversation about "cloning" ourselves, given whatever amount of some challenge was in front of us ...

Separately, as the grandfather of twins, they have been very interesting to watch, as they clearly have some sort of unseen bond not found in children born solo ...

Where did you get the images accompanying your poem?

That is fascinating about your grandchildren @roleerob... I had a couple close friends in high school that were twins and they had the most intriguing connection, especially during adolesence when they were both wanting to discover their individuality. I had fun getting to know their idiosyncrasies and differences as well as similarities.

I wanted to play out the "fantasy scenario" of being able to possess multiple bodies and continue through to a less-than-fantasy conclusion—that eventually, some of our worst qualities would emerge, we would take having more than one of us for granted, etc. and experience disconnection.

Partially, I was being purposefully exaggerative, hopefully not too heavy-handed. Perhaps we would actually have a wonderful time having an army with the same DNA! I would expect near-telepathy and lots of unusual phenomena in such a scenario.

As for the images, I made them using Final Cut Pro, which is a wonderful video editor for Mac but doubles as a great still image editor as well.

Very beautiful lines I appreciate keep going.
tnhefe.jpg

You're welcome and I like that graphic @syedmazharali! Thanks for the encouragement; STEEM on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97