My Steem Story by @chelsea88

in ART LOVERS5 years ago

Navy Blue Smooth Jazz Cover Youtube Thumbnail.png

MY STEEM STORY

A Power House Creatives Initiative

Power House Creatives _night mode.png

MY STEEM STORY - BY @chelsea88
20191121_130708.jpg

This post creation idea is contributed to @jaynie. Thanks my friend! It's a fantastic idea in order for us all to know one another better and why the heck Steemit? I have always found people's Steemit stories interesting, so herein I shall share mine. Grab some popcorn! Haha, just don't fall asleep. Also cool factoid, half of this post payout will go to Steemit development.

So without further ado, I shall share my story.

Where my Steem Journey began
I joined almost 3 years ago in June 2017. I had been going back and forth on whether I should join, is this a waste of time, what's the point, etc. All those type of questions. I wish I hadn't been so indecisive; I would've joined months earlier. I was introduced to Steemit by @lauralemons, may she RIP. Thanks Laura! I have at times been dependent on crypto earnings. The market volatility for all cryptocurrencies has to be, of course, closely monitored. Mostly here on Steemit, I have had fun, met some like minded people, and learned a lot!

My initial challenges & how I overcame them
When I first began one hurdle was getting community engagement. I suppose all newcomers will face that. However, if you post original content and learn which tags will help with visibility on that topic, that will help you quite a bit. #minnowsupportgroup is also helpful. Cite all sources to include pictures and information that that's not your own. Don't just upvote, engage on other's posts. Get to know people, most of them don't bite. ;) Avoid generic comments like nice post, etc. Talk about what you liked about it! DO NOT POST COMMENTS STATING "UPVOTE FOR UPVOTE. " Don't spam people's posts with links to your post. You'll get downvoted! Genuine engagement here is key if you want attention to your own posts.

My Steem blockchain knowledge
Truthfully, I have a workable knowledge on blockchain in general not just Steem. Been studying it for about 4 years. I am no expert.
I learn more from others posts, watching related videos, and reading other articles.

My Steem favourites
What are the things you do mostly on the blockchain – is it blogging, vlogging?
Blogging for sure!! Not big into videos. Long story & we'll keep it at that. Here people will read (usually) your blog and you'll get constructive feedback or friendly conversation. Better than other sorts of places.
What front ends do you like to make use of and what content genre’s do you generally focus on? I have a variety of interests from health & fitness, cryptocurrency trends, art, running, sometimes conspiracy type writeups, nature, cats, animals, photography, philosophy, psychology, life in general and I am probably forgetting some stuff.

My golden nugget advice
What advice would you offer to those that are unfamiliar or new to this space?
Kinda already covered this. Mainly NO plagiarism, no generic comments such as "nice post", engage others, seek out communities that you fit into and that also helps quite a bit. Be PATIENT as well; Rome wasn't built in a day.

My Steem hood & its peeps
I briefly ran an East coast US Steem initiative but it wasn't properly appreciated.
We are all adults here (I hope), & the time I spent on it was not worth it as I could've been focusing on more important projects. The same is true of Steemit Dreamit, poorly misunderstood by most. Currently involved in #steemusa & #runningproject, both awesome communities!
Some influential and some even beyond the "colleague" standpoint would be the afore mentioned @lauralemons, @edouard, @tattoodjay, @jaynie, @dswigle, @vikingventures, @kaylinart, @stortebeker, @denmarkguy, and @sunscape. That's just naming a FEW!

You're more than welcome to participate in writing your poem Steem/ Steemit story. Please follow the general formatting of this post created by @jaynie and the following:

  1. Create a post entitled "my Steem story by @ your handle."

  2. In order the first three tags are:
    #hive-114105
    #powerhousecreatives
    #mysteemstory

  3. ONLY make use of the cover image provided in this post.

  4. Keep the same formatting and placement of headers, footers, etc.

  5. Replace the personal photo with one of your own.

  6. Tag 5 people to join in on the initiative.

  7. Share your post to twitter.

  8. Share your twitter link and Steem post link in the comments of @jaynie’s “Steem Story” post.

That about wraps this up. Myself & others would love to hear your story.
20190628_053502.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing your story, and for the shoutout! It always makes me happy to see people from "the early days" still being active members of the community!

You're most welcome! I may not always comment but your posts are introspective, laid out beautifully, have encouraged me, and keep it up!

 5 years ago 

Us old folk! hehe :D

It's a great initiative and I am finding old school Chels, approachable and making me want to create more content. I am always impressed by the ease with which you communicate your bio. Not sure I will have time to enter but certainly considering it.
SD lives on in my heart (and with this neato footer of yours)

 5 years ago 

You can enter ANY time @edourd :)

Cool beanz because I have something going in my drafts, which OMG, I'm such a capitalist ;)

 5 years ago 

hahahaha sounds good! I am still busy ploughing through the first 101 entries... so will look forward to reading yours!!!

Have a super weekend!

Thanks my dear @edouard been going through some personal shit but working on still being creative. Hope you're doing will and SD is intangible but glad someone gets it :)

Why aren't you two our neighbors? ♡
SD can be more of a cult type thing, poorly misunderstood, no offense to anyone involved but you certainly understood it as well as my I'm imaginative mind did. I am hoping to continue doing well. An NDE will change your attitude. Should be for the better but not the case for all. You can still post your Steem story. I want to read it. Hmmph. crosses arms
Luv ya, keep being an awesome dreamian!

Once a dreamian, always a dreamian

  • Myriade

Right on and how could one forget myriade?

 5 years ago 

Building community engagement is a hard thing to do! It takes time, work, effort, time, and to not get discouraged!

Great story!

No plagiarism is indeed a great advice, be honest all the time online and offline. Sorry tho hear you lost your onboarder Laura i lost mine aswell here
Thanks for the share sorry my vote is only 30 but i am trying to upvote all the mysteemstories today at once

No problem on the UV mine is almost always worthless :/

You're such an asset to our Steem story challenge @chelsea88. Thanks for joining. 💕

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks, I appreciate

 5 years ago 

I am actually really taken back by how many June 2017 babies there are in PHC haha!!!! That includes me! Sorry for the loss of your steem friend though. I went through that late last year with the passing of wales... it was incredibly tough.

I agree, community engagement is challenging in the beginning and I found that once I joined the world of discord, that all changed!

Great story, thanks for taking the time to share it!

!tip

Thanks @jaynie yes a lot there are a lot of 6/2017 steemians :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68598.13
ETH 2704.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72