Salute your Health | DIY Self Care with Bird Song!

in ART LOVERS5 years ago (edited)

DSC_0082 (2).jpg

Winter in the US! How can something so beautiful be so harsh?


IMG_2191 (2).jpg


That’s what crossed my mind as we drove away to my daughter’s home. We felt winters full effects with our latest visit to Colorado. The minute we stepped off the plane I could feel the dry, cold winter all around us. Bird to the rescue, I came bearing gifts! Last fall I began making special treats designed to protect and nourish my both my daughters and their families! Come check it out!


Bird Song Lip Balm!


This was so simple to make, with just three simple ingredients you can make your own lip balm. With no preservatives or added ingredients you can’t pronounce you can make this summer/winter lip quencher for pennies! (When was the last time you bought a lip balm for pennies????)


You’ll need!

  • Organic Coconut Oil (1/4 cup)
  • Organic Shea Butter (1/4 cup)
  • Organic Beeswax (1/4 cup)
  • Your favorite essential oil!

That’s it! Last year I used mint essential oil but this year I decided I would send a special kiss from the Sunshine State! Orange essential Oil! It smells delicious! Pick your favorite!

DSC_0045 (2).jpg


Gently melt…


The Coconut and Sheaf butter in a double boiler. (My antique Pyrex mixing bowl over a saucepan with water worked perfectly!)


DSC_0042 (2).jpg

Lip balm tubes…


are available online, they’re BPA free and one package will certainly last a few years! Glass makeup jars work just as well, I love to clean and reuse my jars! I used a turkey baster to fill these little guys. Don’t worry, it hasn’t been used to baste any turkeys! Aren’t they cute?
DSC_0051 (2).jpg

Bird Song Lip Balm!


I had a lot of fun making my own labels, what do you think?
DSC_0081 (2).jpg


Farewell Cold Winter! The Birds are heading south…


The Lip balm was a hit! I had so much fun, even my little grandson gave me yummy thumbs up! A little touch of balm on his sweet cheeks worked wonders! Denver winters are wicked! The view was great but way too cold! How about one final glimpse!
IMG_2331 (2).jpg


2020 will be a year to concentrate on not only healthy foods but a healthy body and mind as well! I have a wonderful facial crème I think you’ll like. It’s packed with nourishing oils and balms. Stay tuned!


Thanks for stopping by the Bird Nest!


loveyourself.jpg


PHC-Footer-05.gif


steemusa2.png


Sort:  

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS Power House Creatives family!
upvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

#powerhousecreatives
JOIN US HERE
FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

Posted using Partiko Android

You're the best! Thank you @steemitbloggers, truly appreciate your support :)

 5 years ago 

I love this!! I don't know anyonecwho makes their own! I'll bet it was well recieved!!

You make the coolest gifts!!

!tip

🎁 Hi @birdsinparadise! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Monochrome Discovers Musing Monday Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

These look soo easy! I should make some for travelling. Do use #naturalmedicine so we can support you more as it's PERFECT for our front end! Xx

LOVE the recipe, the intent and the better self care. Yay you!!

Gotta comment on the plastic tubes though - NO plastic is safe with an oil based preparation inside - over time the plastic is dissolved into the oil base and detectable in trace amounts. We end up EATING those trace amounts. Latest research outcomes on so-called 'safe' BPA free plastics show they're not really safe, especially over time and/or if heated. So many sweet little tins and glass jars around that can also be boiled and refilled.

LOVING eco-natural intent and wishing @birdsinparadise a Happy New Year.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.

Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.

ecoTrain

Such a. Cool gift and i am sure it was so appreciated

What a great idea and I showed Marian Mrs. Bird.
Those gift ideas are perfect!
Blessings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63725.17
ETH 2619.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82