Fruits and Veggies Monday | Give a gift of Quince Thumbprints with Jam!

in ART LOVERS5 years ago (edited)

DSC_0044 (2).jpg

Have you tried a new fruit or veggie lately?


This week I found a new fruit I want to share with you. A beautiful fruit believed to predate the lovely Apple! Greek Mythology refers to this beloved fruit, and how it was given to Aphrodite, the goddess of love by her beloved Paris. Some say the Quince dates back to the Garden of Eden!


quincetree.jpg

photo thanks to pixabay


Finding this cute fruit was such a treat as the Quince has a very short season. I thought it would be perfect to bring to the table for @lenasveganliving’s Fruits and Veggies Monday! The holiday season is in full swing, it will be fun to see what shows up this week! A big thanks to Lena, sharing healthy and delicious recipes each week, she’s a great inspiration to all of us.


While closely related to the apple and pear…


the Quince cannot be eaten raw! A highly fibrous and astringent fruit, cooking first is a must! Once cooked the flesh softens and the fragrance is amazing, a cross between vanilla and citrus!
DSC_0004 (2).jpg

Poached, sliced or shredded…


are typical methods to prepare the quince. With Christmas in mind, I decided to make jam and Thumbprint bites! Shredding one Quince was the first step! Btw...just like the apple, the flesh will darken quickly when shredded.
DSC_0006 (2).jpg


Quince Jam

  • Quince (qty 1)
  • Lemon juice (1 tbsp.)
  • Lemon zest (1 tbsp.)
  • Water (1 cup)
  • Maple Syrup (1/2 cup)

Lemon juice, zest…


water and maple syrup were combined in a saucepan, brought to a boil and simmered over low heat for about 1 ½ hours. I was careful to stir and check the consistency occasionally. Since I had a few minutes to spare it was time to make the cookies!
DSC_0010 (2).jpg


Bird's Thumbprint Cookies

  • Almond flour (2 cups)
  • Tapioca flour (1/4 cup)
  • Sea Salt (1/4 tsp)
  • Chia Egg (qty 1)
  • Non-dairy butter (2 tbsp.)
  • Vanilla (1 tsp)
  • Maple Syrup (1/2 cup)

Mixing dry ingredients


first and then adding the wet ingredients, the cookie batter was ready in a snap!
DSC_0024 (2).jpg

With damp fingers...


the batter was rolled into 1 ½ balls and placed on a parchment lined baking sheet. Why are they called thumbprint cookies? Yep, you guessed it! Press your thumb gently in the center of each of the balls. Wow, they look like little Bird nests don't they? Jam was ready so I placed about ½ tsp of jam in the center of each cookie.
DSC_0027 (2).jpg

Oven was ready…


350 degrees, bake about 15 minutes or until golden brown. Now go for a walk or something, they need to cool completely!
DSC_0033 (2).jpg

Jam spooned into the jar, ready to be mailed!


DSC_0065 (2).jpg

Gift giving! Quince jam, check! Thumbprint cookies, check check!


DSC_0049 (2).jpg

Cookie break? Enjoy my fruits and veggie friends!


DSC_0063 (2).jpg


Quince jam is delightful, with a tart and slightly sweet flavor it will be great for breakfast on toast, muffins or even pancakes! Check your local market, you may find them right about now! If not, try another new fruit or veggie this week! I would love to hear about it!


And as always, blessings to you all


loveyourself.jpg


PHC-Footer-05.gif


steemusa2.png


Sort:  

You have been 🙏 curated by @njord

My mother used to poach quinces with a cinnamon stick, and serve them for dessert with home made custard. wow - you just too me back! I can SMELL it as I sit here in Thailand, 45 years later. :)


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.

Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.

ecoTrain

I approve of this plant-based posts.
Upvote 👍

🎁 Hi @birdsinparadise! You have received 0.2 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Decking The Halls With Wreaths Across America Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Your thumbprint cookies look divine Mrs Bird! They're my absolute favourite but of course just using regular apricot jam, I'd love to taste these with the quince jam! You really weave magic in that kitchen of yours;)

I've never had quince jam, but I remember making these with raspberry preserves or strawberry jam!
THEY ARE SO ADDICTIVE!

You are great inspiration to us all as well, my Dear Mrs. Bird, but thank you for your sweetest shout out every time. And not only that is sweetest, your treats are too and this one s no difference. Oh my goodness, or should I say goddess? LOL! What a delight from the Garden of Eden! If they only knew what you are going to make with it, lol. The cookies for the Gods! I only wish I had one or two right now 🍏😍🍏

01.jpg

 5 years ago 

Oh these look divine. Quince! I love knowing a little more about the ancient fruit.
What a great idea to use it in a classic cookie, revamped for a modern diet.
Excellent work too. Everything so well presented and yuh-uh-ummy looking.

Your cookies look delicious with the homemade jam. I haven’t made thumbprint ones for awhile but you gave the incentive to make them again. 😊

I dont think I have ever tried Quince jam, but that said those cookies look so good

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60582.22
ETH 2368.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65