You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemit Engagement Challenge Season8 Week1: What is the value of life?

in Colombia-Original2 years ago

I am so glad that you took up the challenge. You got me glued to my screen from the word go.
What I love about this contest is how we learn not only from each other but from the various countries and religions.

I want to start where you have ended. Justice is served...
I agree, proper and fair treatment is what I would also like to see. However, this often doesn’t happen. It doesn’t help when a broken system is put on trial and I have seen this happening in so many cases.
Just this morning I heard about a case where a young man received a 12-year sentence for stealing and another 16 years for murder. How on earth can that be?

I suppose this is also what contributes to me being so anti-death penalty. In the history of my country, the death penalty was handed out so easily to those who were of a different color, poor and helpless. Justice was not served.

forgiveness and mercy

What a wonderful world we will be living in if all of us can live by these two words.
Let’s take the case of Oscar Pistorius, the Blade Runner, who was convicted of killing his girlfriend on Valentines’s Day.
His parole appeal is coming up on 31 March. It was made clear by her family that they will oppose the appeal. Why?
It is not going to bring her back. He has shown remorse and he served time.
Where are the forgiveness and mercy? Is it not time to move on?

In the end, we are all human and we have our beliefs and morals. All that remains is to ask ourselves, “What if it was me? Does my life have value?”

I know my answer!

Sort:  

Thank you for taking the time to read my post. 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56596.99
ETH 2394.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32