Raising awareness about the fight against HIV/AIDS

in Colombia-Original6 months ago
GREETINGS---//---INTRODUCTION

@nsijoro (1).png
Created in Designed

Greetings to members of this community, Happy new month, I am your favourite friend NSISONG JOHN ROBERT from NIGERIA nicknamed @nsijoro and I am so delighted to write on this topic by @josevas217. To me, I feel the spread of the virus has reduced over time before the constant awareness created by health personnel and the government. The USAids as well as the W.H.O. has devised many ways of tackling the virus and has helped to curtail its spread.

IMG-20231104-WA0004.jpg
Creating awareness about HIV, Synthesizing some compound to give Preventive drugs

How can a platform like Steemit create awareness that will hinder the spread of HIV and AIDS

Since Steemit is a blockchain social media platform that encourages blogging as a way of paying its users, I think different elements present could pilot these affairs.
One of the elements is posting, as I said earlier posting activities is one activity that can create awareness because an individual could contribute their take on the subject matter and can also give possible solutions to rising issues concerning HIV and AIDS. Just like me whose post trends most on the Steemit blockchain platform, we could make a post about HIV AND AIDS trend by vote and make it be at the top trending post, this called social media optimization, the more traffic generated on a post the more it trends most when a topic it was written on is searched

Global awareness and its effect on HIV/AIDS

Global awareness of HIV and AIDS has played a very important role in combating this disease. In the 1980s, when HIV/AIDS was first identified there was a great deal of misinformation surrounding the disease, I remember my teacher telling me that people isolated themselves completely from HIV patients thinking a lot of people said that if a person with Hiv cough you could contract the disease, misinformation about it spread, and its treatment was too many. I remember how I was enlightened about the disease transmission by a popular and repetitive television series in my country titled "The Mirror".

IMG_20231106_110815_523.jpgIMG_20231120_130422_643.jpg

However, over time, as more people became aware of the facts about HIV/AIDS, and as more research was done on treatments and prevention methods, the stigma around the disease began to reduce. Now, there are more resources and support available for people living with HIV/AIDS, a mother with Hiv can deliver safely without the child contracting the disease and more people are getting tested and treated for the disease. Educating and creating awareness have been key contributions to the fight against HIV/AIDS. I have seen a big difference between the latter and the now as the spread of the virus has reduced.

Any close experience with the disease?

IMG_20231120_130602_300.jpgIMG_20231120_130325_491.jpg

The story is so tragic. On returning from school for a long vacation I learnt that one of my neighbour's brothers died. I began to ask some people what could have caused the early demise of a young man who had just married a beautiful damsel and was blessed with two kids. To my greatest surprise, my sister told me that he had HIV and AIDS. His death was so painful, but I was not too shocked about it because he was always looking too sick like someone who has always been fasting but I never knew it was HIV and AIDS. My neighbour tried to combat this disease over the years but could not make it and I think the main reason he couldn't succeed was lack of money because from what I heard he was unable to purchase some drugs that were prescribed by the doctor while spending the little money he had from his cyclist side hustle to feed his family.

CONCLUSION

HIV and AIDS is a very deadly disease. HIV metamorphoses to AIDS overtime making AIDS the advanced form, when I was in high school I was taught of four most important preventive methods to hinder the spread of the disease, which we called the ABCs of prevention

  • ABSTINENCE
  • BE FAITHFUL TO YOUR PARTNER
  • CONDOM USAGE(deviate from unprotected sex

With this, we can live long and be healthy

Sort:  
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69774.83
ETH 3620.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72