Steemit Engagement Challenge Season8 Week1: What is the value of life?"

in Colombia-Originallast year


Immagine di Freepik

Hi everyone, I'm participating with great pleasure in the contest organized by the Colombiaoriginal community, even though the topic addressed in this contest is a very ugly thing, especially when it occurs in certain contexts.


However, I think that the most interesting thing about this contest is to compare users from all over the world here on steemit, and this makes you understand how the issue of the death penalty can change radically from country to country.

It's nice when certain topics are addressed, but it's not always easy to answer these questions, but I will try to do so in the most spontaneous and transparent way possible.

What do you think about the death penalty, do you agree or disagree? Explain why?

Let's start from the beginning, what do I think about the death penalty? Let's say that I consider myself very lucky because my uncle was a chaplain for several years at an important prison in Italy, and of course he believed that a person who had committed a crime could in some way be rehabilitated, but for example I have never agreed with him on the issue of the death penalty. I think that when someone takes another person's life, it's not that they don't deserve to live anymore, but my fear is that they may repeat the same crime, that is, that this person may be potentially dangerous for society. However, I could never bring myself to kill them, because it seems almost like I'm taking the place of God.



Immagine di Freepik


In the past in Italy there have been many heinous crimes, including the years of terrorism in 1970, but I don't know how much sense it would have made to condemn that person to death, perhaps sometimes letting them spend their life in prison is the best thing to do.

Is this type of penalty part of the law in your country? Do you think it should be implemented?

According to what I studied in school, the first law to abolish the death penalty was passed in 1948, but in reality, the death penalty was completely abolished in Italy in 1994, so it hasn't been that many years since it was abolished, and apparently no one has ever thought of reinstating it, but instead a kind of tough prison has been activated for those who commit mafia and terrorism crimes.

Do you know of any particular case of death penalty in your country or any other country? Can you share it?

I don't know of any cases of the death penalty in my country, fortunately. Unfortunately, I see cases of the death penalty in other countries. I almost experienced it firsthand through an Iranian incident. In fact, the Iranian community in Italy is very present, but especially one of our compatriots was imprisoned during the protests in Iran, and fortunately she was later released because she was at risk of the death penalty.



Immagine di mdjaff su Freepik


I don't want to get into the religious discourse of Iran, but I don't think it's right for young people to end up like that. I believe that a person can protest in a civil way, and sometimes I understand how lucky we are to have been born in Italy. Many people in my country don't realize this. I'm not a religious person, but I just say that God has taught us to love, not to kill.

I hope you appreciated my sincerity and my opinion. I spoke honestly about what I think, but surely in the coming days, I'll read some other posts to see how the situation is around the world. Meanwhile, thank you and see you at my next participation. Have a good day.



Black Modern Blogger YouTube Channel Art.jpg

kisspng-youtube-computer-icons-social-media-logo-5b2fd5dd01f286.854714911529861597008 (1).jpg

INVITE FRIENDS TO PARTICIPATE:@kikenexum @mikitaly @rahamat31

Sort:  
Loading...

I for one enjoyed your sincerity and I am glad that we feel the same about the death penalty.
I don't know how anyone can take a life. How can you live with yourself there after ever again? Life is so precious!!
I know I would not be able to.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58961.27
ETH 2500.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45