Steemit Engagement Challenge (week 2): Create your original story | Steemit/ "Reminiscence on how I nearly embarrass my self" by @dayographix

in Colombia-Original2 years ago (edited)

image.png
Source

I want to use this opportunity to thank @Colombia-Original for their awesome initiative . I'm excited to take part in the week 2 contest, and I want to express my gratitude for hosting such, this is my 1st engagement challenge in week 2. Today I will share a Reminiscence on how I nearly embarrass my self.

15% beneficiary to @colombiaoriginal

cyxkEVqiiLy2ofdgrJNxeZC3WCHPBwR7MjUDzY4kBNr81LetETmuDWKvqCPmaSADqzr7cvw5uMJgEuBeuvuxazYG8zoQXWgA6qkN5Yo32DcRzka1VLsrb2BJSkBrF9yjpHU.png

A meander through a wood with my sister at this time of year captures reflection, as the silhouettes of trees strip themselves to reveal the verdigris of moss, the elephant grey branches holding the air in limbo. It is a good place for thinking, sifting through, letting residues drop, to fall away and fade, to consider the vitality of fresh bud and what these may mean for growth, for blossom, for enterprise.

Weeks ago as I was strolling through the wood with my Sister, One hand deep in my pockets and the other holding her hand, I was led on by an allegory of what happened while I was in first year at the University of Nigeria.

Within a stream, my thoughts is the memory of what happened in the beginning of First year in the University, I had my mind made up never to trek or walk to school under any circumstances in life, I can't die under the hot sun of Enugu But sometimes life doesn't go as we plan and hunger has a fantastic way of making people put their mouth were their money is. Few weeks into the semester, I was terrifically broke. My level of brokenness had gotten a certain pedigree no amount of perfume that I apply can make me smell rich instead I smell brokenness because it was written all over me , the whole cash I had in my life both at home, bank, abroad, away and oversea, was just five hundred naira (2 Steem) ,and I was managing it to transport my worn out self back and forth to school daily on an empty stomach.

On the day the money finished, my hope went out like a light and I glimpsed the way hunger will take me down chunk by chunk. But I must survive since am alive and so I announced to the whole lodge that I'll be trekking to school that day. I claimed I needed the exercise to keep fit and lose some weight. those that heard me was like, "shuu, baba Dayo which weight are you losing again. As you slim reach, na your life you wan lose?" They laughed. @ezege11 even chipped in, "Dayo (Uncle D) abeg if na hunger trekking, tell us lets contribute for you" or better still u can join us in the air taxi. More laughter. I almost froze . That one cuts too close to the bone. @ezege11 wouldn't pack his big mouth well.

To protect my overlapping ego, I told them that I was just informing them to see if any would trek with me seeing as everybody has added flesh anyhow [which was a blue lie because everybody is as dry as a twig] and I wouldn't want a situation where they'll say that I trekked without inviting them [as if they cares]. Anyway, when you see me on the road doing my fitness trekking, just holla and pass. I concluded.

As for Ezege, I made a mental note to deal with his loose tongue later, Getting into my apartment, I nearly cried. Holla and pass? Damn, who makes that type of statement. I should had said " holla and ask me to join because man's not with cash anymore." but to prove it ain't a hungry trekking even though it was, I dressed my best. To be honest, I had been reserving that cloth for a hangout coming up in three days. I wept as I watched myself wore it. Then I put on my trekking shoes , I locked my door and off I went.

School here I come, trekking under dust and hot sun . I got to school after a forty minutes hard trekking. Damn, somebody please gimme a massage before I die. By then I was walking in a hoppity-hop manner. My shoes where paining me . All the bones in my body had gone on exile. Approaching the campus main gate I quickly adjusted myself, dusted my trousers, straightened my hair and took on my James Bond kind of step. There's no need to broadcast to the whole school that you've trekked is there? Aww, that sucks.

After the last course for the day, I signed out and I had a few meetings [which I couldn't even concentrate] had ended. I thanked heavens they ended pretty fast [gives me a head start for my thousand and one journey]. I prepared my self on how to start my second missionary trekking. The earlier the better . And oh, I had caused a little bit of commotion in class because of how good I looked that day. Especially with the girls who had tried to drag me Chitis Restaurant to my pocket [if only they knew my condition that day but I vigorously fought them off like a tiger immediately. I Can't fall my hand for nothing especially when I knew my account is dry.

And so I started my journey back home. Head was moving in fatigue, arms swinging from my shoulders as I dragged my legs . My only thought now was how to eat up the miles ahead like bread and sardine. "Dayo Dayo.... " a shrill voice called out. I turned. Anita was waving at me through Glass Restaurant across the street. She was smiling and happy. Well, didn't your mama teach you never to turn down a pretty girl? Though tired and hungry, I found myself marching towards her direction when one good mind was telling me to turn back and just wave.

"Hi Anita" I hailed as I approach the Glass door because she was close to the door. She has been giving me double green light now for months. But I've been acting like I ain't seeing it. Honestly speaking, I don't want to add any more load to the ones I'm carrying already.

Getting near, Anita flung herself on me in a tight hug. She looked very sweet and dragged me to where she sat. That should had been my cue to run but no. I wanted to know why she was so happy. Poke nose will not kill me one day.

"Anita dear how are. "
"Dayo boo I'm fine.."

"Hei, everybody listen up, this is Dayo also known as Dayograhix my love, my sweetheart, my heart" , high tech engineer and bad ass graphics designer , She announced. Everybody looked up. Most were her departmental guys and I shook hands with them. Mehn, that was one hell of an introduction. Thank God I dressed sweet. Though we aren't dating but who cares about the introduction, I asked myself, feeling really proud as I took in the envious stares. Anita was sitting in a restaurant and the food being displayed on the screen caught my attention and the aroma of the food being sold drifted into my nostrils making me wish that the part of Anita's arm I was holding is a soft turkey meat.

"Dayo guess what?"
"What"
"I've appointed the vice president of my department!" she squealed in delight. "God I'm so happy" she announced. I too shouted in delight, but God knows that was for the paparazzi. For God sake who cares, not as if her winning the election will get me off the trekking list.

"I'm so happy for you babe. Congrats. You deserve it" I kept repeating thinking it's high time I resume my trekking. But no, not so fast. Suddenly, the mood changed. "Dayo I'm hungry".

Heee!!! that was it! I nearly screamed. No wonder all these Dayo my love, Dayo my heart, Dayo my kidney blahblahblah. Mehn, I am fried. I stood transfixed for three seconds as the misery of my situation dawned on me. I wanted to murmur some excuses that my bank app has been placed on ban or how my parents removed me from the beneficiary list but I felt an electric chill down my spine when I realized that all her coursemates were now staring at me.

My God! Who'll believe that with all my packaging, I can't afford her meal, the thought of that alone gave me goose pimples. To make matters worse, the menu list have been sent to our table. Doesn't these people have conscience? … By now I was sweating all over, some sweat even found their way down my buttocks. One mind told me to take off right there and run as fast as my legs will allow.

"Which drink should I serve it with", the waiter called me back to reality. Did I order anything? Drink kill you there. I wanted to shout but instead I kept my big mouth shut and took a deep breath. "Ask her " I nearly cried. Anita squealed in delight. " Woow, Dayo is buying me lunch, I can't believe it. I love you Dayo boo"

"Love your Anita. Idiot". I thundered in my mind. Hey, hold on. I know what you're thinking. Yes I have no money but asking her to take only water will make me look cheap and my overlapping ego can't allow that. At least not here where everyone has their eyes on me. I have to maintain whatever prestige is left to me. Now, my escape strategy will be to play the " I've lost my card" once it's time to pay.

Anita took the food and spooned it. I nearly wept. Now I understood why Jesus wept, seriously. With each spoon she took, it hurts like she was eating my kidney. I waited for good five minutes pondering when best to start my act as I watched Anita level the food with relish, myself battling with my tommy. I watched in self pity as mounds after mounds disappeared between her huge teeth's while I can do nothing to help it. All the conversation she was trying to make was lost as my brain was on a high-speed train calculating when best to spin my yarn.

Suddenly my phone vibrated in my pocket. , I was thinking it was my mum . I brought out my phone with enough venom to kill a snake, cursing and hissing, very sure it was him and ready to delete the message. Hold on, Wait, wait, wait a minute. Is that Credit Alert I am seeing? What. Fifty dollars alert from my steemit friend ? . wow I nearly went mad. Anita was like Dayo what is it?

"My sister just gave birth to twins right now. I'm so happy". I responded. Everybody in the joint cheered. "Congrats man, congrats man...". "Thank you, thank you, the good lord has delivered me from shame, he has done it for me," I replied almost in tears. Anita was surprised at how I'm taking it so personal,

"was she barren?" she asked. " What? No. no, you won't understand. Waiter, please serve her one more drink and I placed my order too. Looks like I'm damn hungry. And please, I will pay with card !" I barked. And I was called back into reality by my sister that stepped on a stone and wanted to fall.

I want to use this opportunity to invite all steemit friends @whitestallion, @ngoenyi @goodybest and @swaylee etc.

Thanks for Reading

Sort:  

I love this story, I cant predict what will happen next.

Thank you for reading through

Nice story, I enjoyed reading

Thank you for reading

Wow, you really are one of a kind when it comes to story writing. My imagination right now is twisted and whenever I looked at those pictures, incomplete story fill up my head but after reading this story of your real life experience, I think I have a clearer grasp on what I am to do concerning this contest. Thanks for making this wonderful entry and goodluck emerging as one of the top 3

Thank you sir

What an awesome story

Thank you reading through

Hola amigo las mejores historias contadas son las nuestras, leer la tuya y ver lo que querías y lo que te paso, una verdadera historia nos haz contado.

Saludos y bendiciones

Thanks for reading

This is a good story and I most say if you haven't think about trying out story written I think you should and I am sure you will be great at it. I enjoyed every bit of it and I am glad I read it. Thank you

Thanks for reading through, you know at every point in our life we have what motivates us to do what we do (muse). I will work towards it.

 2 years ago 

Tu historia es envolvente, leí y leí y quería seguir leyendo para ver como terminaba la historia. Me gustó la secuencia de pensamientos del protagonista, gracias por participar @dayographix.

✅ Club5050: 194.462 STEEM encendidos y 101.722 STEEM retiros
✅ Usa Fuentes en sus imágenes
✅ Gracias por destinar un % de tus recompensas a nuestras cuentas comunitarias.

Banner de LinkedIn Tecnología Abstracto Azul y Blanco (1).png

Anita es una interesada, gracias a Dios existe #steemit ...viva Steemit

😂😂😂 Dayo you won't kill me aswearugawd.
Just to impress a girl you are not even dating, you went through this mental stress? Anyways thank God your sister finally called you back to reality before you order for everyone in the restaurant because you want to show yourself up.
This is a very nice story and I enjoyed reading through with your big ego like Kilimanjaro 😆😆
Trekking machine

I can only imagine this type of creativity.
i enjoyed reading

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15