CONTEST ENTRY || Great Actors who have won the Oscar || Leonardo DiCaprio

This is an easy choice for me to make. I still think Nicole Kidman deserves demerits for The Killing of a Sacred Deer, or I honestly would have chosen her too. The Hours is a great film, and she has so many more. Cold Mountain, The Others, even Dogville which was horrific but which was still somehow able to be appreciated in some sense. Unless you desire to be traumatized for 6 weeks or more, DO NOT EVER watch The Killing of a Sacred Deer. I would only wish that experience upon my worst enemy.

But enough of that tirade....

Leonardo DiCaprio stars as Hugh Glass in The Revenant (2015), a story of betrayal and revenge, of survival against all odds, of kinship and rivalry. But above all of the Land -- its harsh bitter truths, its sheer raw beauty, and its sustaining spirit.

It is for this role he was most deservedly awarded with the Oscar for Best Actor. Many congratulations to him.

SPOILER ALERT

revenant-leo-bearskin.jpg

Image Source

In the end, when Glass defeats his enemy, he doesn't kill him. He says,

Revenge is in the hands of God.

Then Glass sends him down cold stream into the hands of some American Indian Peoples who happened to be there and who happened also to actually kill him.

In my opinion it is also of note that in 2015 another movie came out, this one starring Daniel Craig as James Bond. The name of this movie is Spectre. This is all very notable since both revenant and spectre are synonyms for the word ghost. This could suggest something about the cultural zeitgeist at that particular moment, at least across the spectatorship that Hollywood purviews, but it could also be coincidence. I go back and watch Spectre maybe every 18 months, just to see the Dia de los Muertos scene at the very beginning. That is a one of my favorite segments in all of cinema.

Realistically I went to see both of these movies (or should I say films?) at the Parkwood Cinema when they came out. But I went to see The Revenant four times. I went with three different friends on three different occasions, and the fourth time I went alone.

The Revenant is one of my 7 favorite movies ever. I highly recommend it to any and all comers.

Thank you for taking the time to read my post.

best wishes to all of you~


thank you @belenguerra my friend, for hosting this contest

thank you @fendit and @writingnreviews for that same reason

I hope you like my entry.

once again, thank you kindly


I will be posting a link to this article on my Twitter account @swimspiritfire


#best #actor #leonardo #oscar #contest #steemit #writing #reviews


in everthing there is a spirit, even the littlest thing~

Sort:  

One of the best real actors and a well deserved oscar for his movie the revenant I look forward to his next movie

o dear, taurus-seated-on-your-haunches -- all it takes is you to breathe

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59908.77
ETH 3191.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43