The Screen Addict | Kosinski

K.jpg

With Top Gun: Maverick (2022) still blasting through box-office barriers across the globe, I wanted to take a moment to celebrate the Tom Cruise - Joseph Kosinski team up that started it all – Oblivion (2013).

I revisited this underrated SciFi-gem the other day because I had treated myself to the 4K edition. The standard Blu-ray release was obviously already part of my collection, but with this type of movie I just cannot resist buying an upgraded version. Sometimes I feel like I am single-handedly responsible for keeping the physical-media business afloat…

Anyway, the 4K upgrade was well worth the parting with coins. The stunning art-direction and production-design pop like the first time I saw it in a movie theater, and the match-made-in-heaven M83 score just sounds better than ever.

Ah yes… M83… In addition to bolstering my appreciation of director Joseph Kosinski after falling in love with his feature debut Tron: Legacy (2010), Oblivion also instantaneously ignited my passion for the music of Anthony Gonzalez and his band.

Cruise is solid as always. Say what you will about the actor and his personal lifestyle-choices but when it comes to his career, I can do nothing but applaud the guy. I struggle to name a single Cruise performance I don’t like. He is a man of impeccable taste when it comes to choosing his material.

Oblivion is based on Kosinski’s own graphic novel, and judging by the striking resemblance the third act bears to Independence Day (1996), I suspect there is a bit of hidden continuity there. But hey, referencing a stone-cold masterpiece like ID4 is obviously never a bad thing.

The only conflicting emotion I feel about my Oblivion 4K home-experience, is that it further reduces my urge to see blockbusters in movie theaters. I truly love the larger-than-life screen and sound of the multiplex, but there are definitely no entitled *ssholes making phone calls and kicking the back of my seat in my home theater…

Nevertheless – very much worth revisiting, 4K or otherwise.

#thescreenaddict
#film
#movies
#contentrecommendation
#celebrateart
#nobodyknowsanything

Twitter (X): Robin Logjes | The Screen Addict

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 61428.91
ETH 3382.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50