Short Story : The Perfectly Flawed FathersteemCreated with Sketch.

in Writing & Reviews3 years ago (edited)

I felt the wind slowly massage my scarred cheeks. I lay on the ground as helpless as a sacrificial lamb and sweated like a pregnant fish. In that moment, I closed my eyes and slowly felt the gentle caress of the wind on my cheeks. Is this how I die? Surely, I deserve a more honorable death than being tied cruelly to the ground waiting to be decapitated, I mused.

I sighed gently and opened my eyes. My gaze fell on the man who was seemingly going to end my life and for a moment, we seemed to be locked in a battle of gaze. I finally moved my gaze away in an act of retreat and stared into the starry sky possibly for the last time.
To think I’d woefully leave such beautiful sights behind as a result of injustice, betrayal and naivety caused me anguish.

The pain I felt in my heart was inexplicable and sharp. Even in my final moments, I kept questioning the originality of the entire story and hoped I’d wake up from a nightmare in a couple of moments.

No. It can’t end this way. I demand an explanation from my daughter for this betrayal. I could be heard shouting to the tall, scary man who stood right above me ready to swing his machete and deliver the final blow. I saw his right arm swing and I closed the teary eyes that had tiny rivulets of disappointed tears strolling down my cheeks.

My entire life had been nothing but a lie including the most sacred relationships I built throughout my reign as leader of the Umabu clan. My daughter. Ah, my beloved daughter. How could you betray and kill your own father? I thought these were going to be my final thoughts as I felt the energy of the swinging arm rush towards my body. Alas, I felt a particular numbness throughout my body but wait, I could open my eyes!
What was happening?

Hi everyone, I’m @sher and I’m excited to be part of this particular group of creative writers. I hope to engage members in this community with some of my intriguing stories that just come out of nowhere😅 and I hope you guys enjoy them. Please do lemme know in the comment section if you enjoyed it and would like me to continue. Many thanks and @fendit, you might wanna take a look at this

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58440.50
ETH 2618.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39