We are going to fight the military ship Birema

in Writing & Reviews3 years ago

Hello everyone!

How are you, are you in the mood for a little winter sailing. This voyage will excite you because now we will sail a warship. You know in the movies when one big board falls from one ship to another, and then the fight starts. We will experience that now. Let's live a little action movie. We all wanted that. Is not it? we all want to live a movie, now it depends on our genre. I love a little action, so let's pretend we're pirates of the Caribbean.

DSC_0111.JPG

This ship that I saw, is exactly the one that was used for fighting when the fight with swords starts on one ship, and they cross from ship to ship with the help of aboard. I believe that these were the hardest fights, there is nowhere to run, if you jump and try to save yourself, you will likely drown, or freeze or your shark will eat. I would probably climb to the top of the sail, but they would knock it down and I would end up in the water. That's not the smartest idea. I don't know what I would do, the only ship I was on was the ferry, and that's my whole sea adventure.

DSC_0112.JPG

Birema ship

Bireme is warships with two rows of rowing decks on the side of the ship. The origin of the ship dates back to the Phoenicians, while this type of ship was later used by all Mediterranean countries as well as the Ottoman Empire.

The ship was 24 meters long and 3 meters wide. It is primarily powered by oars, in case of favourable wind conditions, and sails. There were 120 to 150 rowers on board, while the ship's crew consisted of 30 people, officers and soldiers. The ship was commanded by an officer from the tent at the stern of the ship, while the ship was steered with two side oars at the stern.

DSC_0113.JPG

In the fight, the mast would be lowered, the rowers left the oars, took the shield and the sword and actively participated in the fight.
The ship had an extremely strong keel, built of oak. On the bow of the ship was an extension of the keel, 2-4 meters long, which was made of bronze. This extension served to pierce the hull of the enemy ship.
To make up for the lack of experience in water combat, and to be able to apply the successful infantry tactics to which they were accustomed, the Romans installed a special device on their ships. It was a boarding bridge, a "Corvus." Instead of the ship crashing into the power of the rower and crashing into the hull of the enemy ship, it now sails parallel to the enemy ship, lowering the Corvus, which has a spike at the bottom and thus crashing into the hull of the ship. In that way, the transition to another ship is enabled.

DSC_0114.JPG

The disadvantage of the corvette is that in case of bad weather, it makes the ship extremely unstable and usually leads to the ship capsizing. More ships were sunk because of the corvette than in the battle.

How do I know all this? Ships are my passion if you didn't know, my grandfather loved to make ships, I even own one on the Danube. As a kid, I used to love fishing with my grandfather. I'm just kidding, or maybe I'm lying. I learned about this ship when I visited this exhibition that was in the museum. Above this ship stood its history and everything about it, so that is my source of the history of this text.

DSC_0110.JPG

YpihifdXP4WNbGMdjw7e3DuhJWBvCw4SfuLZsrnJYHEpsqZFkiGGNCQCEHAD6Vp3osEkdojpvPcCq6h1xChwiQTuAzmrXiW4BRc91hHiJ3TeUe5LsGQHGAJgvG2fPoRBPriJrJGp6uBcnFGTZ66YNfte9odG1PwgQFKJLfrbJuxz.png

I hope you enjoyed this post. I enjoyed making it and sharing it with you fulfills me in a way. Greetings until the next post. I wish you a lot of love and happiness, Sara.

𝓦𝓲𝓽𝓱 𝓵𝓸𝓿𝓮, 𝓢𝓪𝓻𝓪𝓱❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62014.91
ETH 2410.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50