Holy point of Golubac mountains - Tumane monastery

in Writing & Reviews3 years ago

Not so far from the Golubac fortress, there is a holy place. It is built so that everyone who comes has peace and natural beauty. The Tuman Monastery is in such a location that it is surrounded by natural beauty and separation from people in order to have silence and peace for prayer. This monastery is no longer so mysterious, and there is no more than silence with which they calmed their inner spirit and prayed, but the beauty of nature, forests, and fresh air still remained around that monastery not changed.

IMG_20210912_134020.jpg

77777.jpg

This holy place has survived a lot over the centuries. The monastery had great spiritual power, so the people constantly renewed and renovated it. It is not known what this monastery used to look like, because it was destroyed and burned several times, but no one could take away that spiritual power that is hidden in it, the monastery is still powerful today and when I stepped on the sacred ground I felt like that something hugged me. I lit a candle, kissed the icon, and let the holy place purify me and give me spiritual peace.

iii.jpg

IMG_20210912_134916.jpg

Name and origin of the monastery:

There is no reliable source as to how the monastery came into being or its name. But there is a story from that time that is still told in the vicinity of that monastery about how this monastery got its name. Tuman was created as an endowment of the Kosovo hero Miloš Obilić when it is believed that he lived and ruled a part of today's Braničevo. Before the Battle of Kosovo, the monastery was not finished yet, so Saint Prince Lazar called on his lord to stop building the sanctuary with the words "Tu mani", from which the name of the monastery is derived.

IMG_20210912_134239.jpg

IMG_20210912_141104.jpg

I desperately wanted to enter and peek inside the monastery, but due to the popularity and the history of this monastery, the crowd was too big. I didn't have the patience to wait in line to enter the monastery, but I skipped that part. There was a huge queue when I had to buy candles, but I couldn't miss it anymore, I calmed down, thought a little, and gathered patience. I lit candles, when I turned around I saw a small door to which people go out, I peeked just enough to take photos and I was amazed at how beautiful this monastery is and how much peace of mind it offers.

IMG_20210912_141151.jpg

IMG_20210912_141214.jpg

The legend that Miloš Obilić hunted in the dense forests around the monastery, and that he inadvertently wounded the hermit Sveti Zosim in the hunt, tells us something wider than this. Carrying the ascetic to his court to try to save his life and reconnoiter the wound, at the place where the monastery is now, the saint begged to be lowered and shouted to Miloš: "There, let me die" - which, as in the previous version of the legend as the basis for the name of the monastery.

IMG_20210912_134330.jpg

IMG_20210912_134045.jpg

As I write this post, Saint Zosimus still hugs me and gives me some strange holy strength.

I like to visit places like this, full of history and natural beauty. Not only do I have a good time, but I also learn something new about the history of the country in which I live.

Source of information for the text

IMG_20210912_134858.jpg

YpihifdXP4WNbGMdjw7e3DuhJWBvCw4SfuLZsrnJYHEpsqZFkiGGNCQCEHAD6Vp3osEkdojpvPcCq6h1xChwiQTuAzmrXiW4BRc91hHiJ3TeUe5LsGQHGAJgvG2fPoRBPriJrJGp6uBcnFGTZ66YNfte9odG1PwgQFKJLfrbJuxz.png

With love, Sarah❤️

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Curated by @blessed-girl

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Enhorabuena, su "post" ha sido "up-voted" por @dsc-r2cornell, que es la "cuenta curating" de la Comunidad de la Discordia de @R2cornell.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60670.43
ETH 3380.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51