The Diary Game || 21.06.21 Father's Day

in Writing & Reviews3 years ago

0001-3234442851_20210621_233820_0000.png


About difficult Fathers


Yesterday was the Father's Day, so I will be writing about my dad mostly. I was thinking for a very long time if I should make this post but in the end of the day I decided to do it because it might give hope someone who needs it.

My relations with my father not always were good. He is a person who has problems with controlling his anger and because of that reason many times in the past me, my brother and even my mom were suffering. I admit, that as the teenager I truly hated him and couldn't wait until the moment when I will be finally able to move out from home.

Everything started to change when I was 18 years old. That year my parents got divorced and my dad realized that he can really lose his kids. I don't know if he went to the therapy or maybe started to take some medicine, we don't really talk openly about some stuff. What's important is that he has changed.

I forgave him the past, even though it wasn't easy. I accepted my childhood and the fact that I had to and still have to work very hard to not repeat his mistakes. I didn't have at home the right example and didn't learn how to manage my own emotions well. Therapy helps me to fix it.


Hope



Our relationship now not always is easy - we don't understand each others very well, there are things we don't talk about, but... I have a dad and he has a son. That's all what counts for me.

I know that I can count on him and I can always call him when I am in need, he knows that he has me and I will help him if that help will be needed.

I'm writing it mostly for all that people who has horrible relations with their parents or other family members. You might not think it's possible, but everyone can change and every relation, even the worst might be fixed. Remember though, that nobody is obligated to give the second chance and if you don't feel you are ready to do it, No one can blame you for that. Consider the second chance as the option, but not as something what has to be done.


Thank you for everything what was good; I'm forgiving everything what was bad, dad.


Post is quite serious, putting my father's photos doesn't seem right, so I'll leave it like that.

Thank you for reading!
@papi.mati

Sort:  

My eyes filled as my father is not in this world now, i tried but couldnt write, u wrote awesome

I'm sorry to hear that... sending virtual hugs

 3 years ago 

Thank you for openning up like this! Days like this are always nice to cherish, but the thing changes whenever you have a difficult relationship with your dad or he's already past away... thank you so much for bringing this up, not everyone has the guts to talk about it!


Thank you for sharing in Writing and Reviews!

Your post has been selected for today as part of the Steemit Communities support Program.

Thank you for your comment and for selecting my post!

Yes, sometimes it's difficult to talk about different things but it's worth it. If I have learned anything in my relatively short life is that being opened with our feelings and emotions might be very therapeutic 😉

Have a marvelous day, Fendit! 🙌🏽

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43