MY BEST HOLIDAY POST||MY VISIT TO BENUE STATE|| @ninapenda

in Writing & Reviews3 years ago (edited)

pexels-olenka-sergienko-3329110.jpgsource

Hello friends.Trust you are good.This contest really caught my fancy and I decided to give it a try.

MY HOLIDAY IN BENUE STATE
BENUE state is one of the States in the North Central geopolitical zone of Nigeria.It is termed the food basket of the Nation because they are good at farm work.

I traveled to Benue state through Aba in Abia state.I actually entered a bus at the Aba park and off we move in the early hours of 25th December 2020.The bus plied along the Enugu Express and got to the boundary between Enugu and Benue after 6 hours.

This suggest that from Aba to the first part of Benue state takes around 6 hours.However,I was actually going to a place called USHONGO.From the first part of Benue to Gboko part took another 2 hours making it 8 hours just to get to Gboko. Remember that my destination is USHONGO and not Gboko.

From Gboko, I boarded another cab to USHONGO and the journey this time took approximately 3 hours.This means that I have spent a total of 11 hours on the road.This is serious!.

Now I have finally arrived USHONGO which is my destination.It was dark already and I had to enter a motorcycle to my location.

USHONGO is indeed a beautiful place located in the Gboko zone of Benue state,Nigeria.The town is know for its large landmass,rocks and mountains.You can't visit or mention this town without mentioning rocks, mountain and crops.The main crops planted there are yam,potato, groundnut and tomato.Infact there is a particular market called YAM MARKET.

All Pictures below are original photos shot with my phone camera

IMG_20210611_185153_216.jpg
A farm in Ushongo

DAY ONE(26th December)
Today is 26th December......I just arrived yesterday been 25th, so
my adventure has started.I woke up and said my prayers,had breakfast and freshened up.On this first outing day,I visited the Ushongo hill.The hill is so great,it have a lot of caves beneath it.However,the route to the hill is not straight forward.It has got lots of track roads filled with short thick grasses.There are also lots of holes and valleys enroute to the Ushongo hill.
IMG-20210611-WA0005.jpg
My brothers on a mountain at Ushongo

The journey from the road to the hill lasted for over 30 minutes.But in all,it was a bitter-sweet experience.I really enjoyed it.When I got to the Ushongo hill,I climbed into it even though I couldn't get to it's pinnacle due to the fear of falling down.
I rested under the caves after a while and had a cold refreshment.I went back to my base later in the evening.

DAY TWO(27th December)
For the second day of my holiday.I chose to visit the Ushongo river.It is not a river though.I may call it a water fall.Over there,water runs down from rocks and so individuals can fetch water from the on-rushing water from the rock.
IMG-20210611-WA0004.jpg
Ushongo water fall

This was indeed a beautiful sight, seeing a large volume of water rushing out from the rock.I watched the whole process with plenty of bliss and excitement.

THIRD DAY(28th December)
The third day was the day I went to see a few of the farms in the land.It was specifically crop farms.

I visited the groundnut farms which is a very large piece of farmland.A lot of groundnut plants were planted there,all looking as green as ever.

The potatoes and yams are there to behold.The yams do not grow on stakes or poles as compared to how we plant in my place.Rather the yams are allowed to crawl freely on the ground.

I was surprised to see such arrangement.Travelling is indeed a part of learning.

DAY FOUR(29th December)
I left the place on the fourth day.I needed to go back to Aba city after spending a total of Four days in Ushongo.

My stay in Ushongo was indeed a fruitful period.I learnt a lot of new things,ate new food and experienced nature at its best.

I will love to visit again,, but this time, I will spend months at least. To be able to explore...

Thank you for this contest..
@steemit
@fendit
@belenguerra

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62067.61
ETH 2414.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57