We Sleep To Wake

I woke up before the dusk dipped.
You looked like a ridge, beaten by rains.
I was the gravy beneath the sand,
The monster they never touch.
This morning, we'd spoken civilly--
For the first time since our liquor died.
Then we'd fought, with empty bottles
And a handsome measure of screams to wake the world.
Shattering glass. I knew you loved the tune.
Before we danced over them, we made wild love.
I climaxed thinking of broken twigs
And October's rotting blooms.
The dance was an affair of madness;
With life seeping from us, we felt true freedom.
Bleeding underfoot is underrated;
Nothing else shows you the true meaning of fire.
Alas, we'd laid down exhausted
Breathing fumes. The kind we puff after rounds with wispy ghosts.
You touched me, with the tip of your sunshine
And asked if I'd love to die now.
I was too weak to laugh. So I smiled my own sunshine.
You began to cry; the ancient drizzle of Armageddon,
Because you knew we could not die.
Falling asleep is easy when all dreams are dead.
You said to sing; I sang an old water song
Though I knew you were tone deaf--
Like ears of corn.
When you wake, you will know
That I have done the demons to you again.
You will only smile and shoot me in the head
Then kiss me goodnight for the thousandth time.
It will be my first peaceful sleep in aeons.

FB_IMG_16293039130206547.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59325.16
ETH 2609.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41