Unpopular opinion: What a great day with no social media interferences

in Writing & Reviews3 years ago


Source

Seems as if today was... kinda... the end of the world. No whatsapp, no Facebook, no Instagram for almost 8 hours. And almost no Telegram, due to the huge amount of users that migrated their daily chats there today. Quite a step for humanity.

Truth is: do we really need social media or instant messagers on our daily lives?!



I might be part of the unpopular opinion, but I had such nice day with no interruptions!

We don't get to realize how dependant we are to such apps, till something like this happens. And I'm glad it did. I did plenty of things today that needed to be done, I trained, studied and a bunch on things more... and I still have some time left on my day. So, after this exercise that we've been through today, don't we realize how much time we spend just scrolling Instagram or Facebook, for the sake of just spending time?!

After it was all restored, I saw a lot of people saying that they, too, had a great day and that all this allowed them to focus on other things rather than their phones. So, once again, how is it that we can't face how addict or how much time we spend?

image.png
Screen from Google News

And yet, every single newspaper and news website commented this. There were plenty new apps being promoted today, so as to keep in touch while Whatsapp was restored. When did we become so dependant on a cellphone? When did our day begin and end with an app always in front of us?!

As I said, I had a great day today, which made me think that I seriously need to focus on spending less time on my social networks. Or, at least, just pick up the phone whenever there's something in particular that I want to check. This has been a great opportunity for all of us to think about this... specially after seeing so many people hyperventilating after their stories didn't upload in Insta...

So, now I wanna know, how was your social network free day?!

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

¡Fue horrible! jajaja Menos mal que lo mio es Discord y Twitter, y no me afecto tanto lo de las otras redes sociales. Aunque, mucha gente la pasó realmente mal XD.

I normally use more Twitter than Instagram. For that reason, this problem did not affect me badly.

 3 years ago 

Para ser honesto querida amiga @fendit, solo uso mis redes sociales para compartir mis post. Ayer para mi fue un día normal

 3 years ago 

Para los venezolanos es muy compleja la situación; ya que tenemos familiares en el exterior y muchas actividades laborales se efectúan por ese medio. Creo que fue relajante, pero tuvo sus complejidades.

Friend, I share that emotion with you, since I am not addicted to networks, I am new to Steemit and the facebook I have is for the family sometimes. It is important not to depend on social networks, because we seem like zombies and slaves of large corporations that want to have one like that, inactive and not healthy at all. Excelent day for everyone.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61168.42
ETH 2363.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58