WEEKLY CONTEST: Short stories with a twist IS BACK! - Visitor from the Grave

in Writing & Reviews2 years ago

IMG-20220131-WA0008[1].jpgsrcsahip

My wife and I live in Silivri, one of the quietest districts of Istanbul in Turkey and far from the city centre. We had two daughters, and after they got married and started their own homes, we started to lead a quiet and lonely life. We continue to spend the rest of our lives here with my husband. This story is about my husband. It is the story of the mysterious incident that my husband had a few years ago and how he changed and turned into a completely different person after that incident. He never forgets that terrible and exemplary incident that he experienced, as if it always continues and he worries as if it will never end. On the other hand, he is trying with my support to abandon the things that caused this event and move towards a better life. silivri is near by sea. And there are very old map here.

IMG-20220131-WA0014[1].jpgsrcturkey

My husband; Before retiring, he was a foreman at a factory near here. Although he is my husband, I have to tell what kind of character he has. HE; He was a very unpopular person around him, who was harsh to the personnel under his command, hated life, and beat me at every opportunity. Our girls were not very happy. He was a person who did not fulfill his religious duties despite being a Muslim, on the contrary, consumed alcohol even though it was prohibited, had no respect for anyone, and did not invite any guests to his home. Some things were his preference, but he had no right to oppress others because of these choices. I, on the other hand, was modest, accepted this life, and wanted to invite and host guests to my house, but I could not do these things. Even my daughters could not come to my house.

Although a person cannot accept it, sometimes a creepy event that has happened to him can change his life. My husband was only able to share this event with me.

It was a few years ago. It was the month of Ramadan, the month of fasting for Muslims. In this month, people would be more modest, respectful to everything, without eating or drinking during the day, worshiping and being respectful towards people. But my husband was not a very good person. He is disrespectful not only to living people, but also to animals and even people in the cemetery. He used to walk over their graves and say disrespectful things. One night, while passing through the cemetery in a drunken state, he stopped in front of the grave of an old person and said: "Uncle Hasan, today is Ramadan, come to visit us, we love to invite guests, anyway, you are a dead person but you can eat as much as a dead person can eat" and laughed. and the past by stepping on the grave.

The biggest trouble my husband gave me was that he would never let me go out. I used to live a prison life at home, he wouldn't want me to talk to anyone else. I don't know if he has always experienced this in his past or if he likes to use it against us because he has the power to manage things. Before he came home, he used to ask his acquaintances if there were people who came to our house. It was very difficult for me to return, I could not even host a guest.

When he came home in the evening, he got very angry when he saw a pair of shoes in front of the door. When he entered the house, he saw the guest at our table. He got angry but didn't make a sound. When I offered it to the guest, I said, "Here you go, uncle, I hope you like the food." He also thought that my uncle was coming. After the food is eaten and tea is drunk, the guest: "Now let me get up, thank you for your visit, my son, can you send me to my house?" He asked my wife. It was evident because of my husband's displeasure, but they agreed to accompany him as soon as possible and left the house. I had never seen the old uncle before, but when he got home and said, "Your husband invited me to be a guest," I was happy. He was our first guest in a long time.

IMG-20220131-WA0009[1].jpgsrcray

I was in awe when my husband told me about that unforgettable night. Together they made their way to the guest's house. When the road gets a little longer. "Uncle Arif, have we not come to your house yet?" he asks. When the man says, "My name is Hasan, not Arif", my husband is surprised. He remembered that my uncle's name was Arif.

And then, when their way was towards the cemetery, my husband wondered: "Well, there's no house around here, it's a secluded forest beyond." says. The old man says, "My house is here, too," and brings my husband in front of a grave. While my husband looks at it meaninglessly at first, he suddenly realizes that the burial ground has split open and is empty inside. His blood is frozen. “But this… this… how can this be, it can't be true,” he says, and stumbles backwards and falls. The old man said: "Don't be afraid," he said, "Didn't you invite me last night? You said, 'Uncle Hasan, come to dinner.'Now you come as my guest and I will show you the situation of the people who have done evil to their environment in this life."

IMG-20220131-WA0010[1].jpgsrcenson

Old man; He takes my husband's hand and lifts it up and takes him towards the cemetery. My husband realizes that he can't control his feet as he trembles in fear and shyness. He is astonished that the old man went with him, albeit unintentionally, as he pulled away. They lean towards the tomb, and suddenly a corridor opens through the cold earth and darkness, and they see that there is a road in front of them. While advancing with fear on the one hand, he begs on the other: "Please wait, I am very scared, I am very afraid of the graves". The old man is; "Don't be afraid, I will be with you, but you need to see some things too. Although there are always good people around you, you have always caused them trouble. Now come and see how people like you are."

IMG-20220131-WA0011[1].jpgsrciman

As my husband walked through that dark and narrow corridor in fear, a large space opened up in front of them. At first he could not understand what it was, but when he looked a little more carefully; They emerged into a chilling area where there was fire all around, the smell too heavy to breathe, and the dreadful cries. My husband shuddered at what he saw and heard. In particular, the screams were so loud and frightening that it almost reached the level of mind. "We.. we.. where did we come from, Hasan uncle, where is this place, how is this covered with fire, who are these people shouting? Please bring me back, I don't want to stay here, please take me back." she began to beg. The old man: "Until now, you have walked through cemeteries without any respect or fear. Are you afraid now when you pass under them?" My husband didn't know what to do. But she began to shiver from the screams. The old man took his arm and continued on his way.

After walking for a while, they came to a place with many people ahead. People here take precious stones such as gold and silver with them and rub them on them. But every time they rub it on, the places they apply begin to burn and their flesh begins to fall out. People are screaming, but they are not afraid to touch the precious jewels. After a while, their bodies slowly recover, then they throw them back into jewels and they experience the same thing again. My husband was so scared that he almost passed out from this situation. The old man said: "Look, these are the ones who hoard their goods, are stingy, and do not help people who are in need with the goods they collect. They were so fond of valuable things that they were constantly dreaming of their dreams and seizing them at every opportunity. This is the torment of stinginess."

IMG-20220131-WA0012[1].jpgsrciman

Later, when they arrive, they see that people are trying to eat a walnut-sized plant with hard and sharp spines from the ground. The plants that were eaten would tear their throats apart as they descended into the stomach, tearing their stomachs apart and causing them to flow out of their stomachs. People are constantly trying to keep their stomachs and intestines, but it just doesn't work. After a while, the same thing happened again. The old man said: "Look, those who ate haram bites. They would eat other people's food without permission and eat things that were forbidden and harmful to the body. Prickly plants are a very severe punishment for them."

When they arrive at another place, the people here; they were constantly begging for water, running to the water-filled ponds ahead and trying to drink water from there. But the water they drank was boiling water, and as they drank, their bodies were falling apart and falling apart. My husband was horrified and didn't know what to do. The old man said: "Look, these are the ones who drink alcohol, which is forbidden to people in the world. Drink harms people and makes them drunk. While they were drunk, they were ready to commit all kinds of sins."

When they got to another place, the people there were trying to gnaw the stones they got their hands on. When my husband looked carefully, he saw that people were equipped with very tasty food, had cold and cool stat drinks, but people were crying and gnawing stones, and the stones they gnawed broke their teeth. The old man." Look at the situation of people who do not invite any guests to their table or home. No matter how much they look at the table next to them and cry, they will not be able to eat it. However, if they had invited people, not stayed away from their relatives, if they had helped someone who was hungry and gave some food, this would not have happened."

Old man; She took my husband's hand, who was exhausted, and brought him out of the cemetery. The man who was once again in the world took a breath, but he was not himself. My husband: "What have I been through, my God? What was all this? Was it real?" The old man said: "Yes, these were real, you have seen how some of your sins are punished in the next world. You have a good wife, a circle of good people. But you always made them suffer, you didn't invite three people. You didn't share when you had plenty. You didn't give it to someone in need. "It's not hard to be a helpful person who likes to share. The hard part is stubbornly refusing to do them." said. She tapped my husband's shoulder and said: "Go home now, you've been given a chance to live the rest of your life." says.

IMG-20220131-WA0013[1].jpgsrcruya

My husband was in a mess. When he got home, he forgot to even take off his shoes and just sat in the living room. He never spoke. I didn't say anything because I was afraid of him. Then she started crying. cried for several hours. After a while he came to himself. And he started to tell me everything. At first I didn't believe him, but as the days passed, my husband began to change. He began to perform his prayers and to speak more calmly and beautifully to those around him. Years have passed and my husband is no longer the same person he used to be. He was a good person, sensitive to his family, constantly inviting his neighbors. He once told me: "Yes, it is easier to be a good person, there are no difficulties." And he often went to visit Uncle Hasan's grave. She was cleaning his and others' graves and laying flowers.

@sinerjii @turkey @mmmmkkkk311 @visionaer3003 @bilimkurgu @sciencefiction

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67083.87
ETH 3502.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.13