A Review about Shocking Blue and their song "Venus" which was a new version of an old song and a cover of it from 80's

in Writing & Reviews3 years ago

Recently as I was listening and watching music videos on youtube I've found this awesome song from the old Rock music lists, the song is called Venus by Shocking Blue (The first famous rock band from the Netherlands in that decade), "Venus" was released in 1969 from "At Home" album. actually, the composer of this song was inspired by "The Banjo Song" an older song which composed by Tim Rose (singer-songwriter-banjo player from a band called "The Big 3"). but for Venus, there are some changes, the lyrics have changed and some parts of music and vocals also have changed, I would say I can call this version 2 of that song. Vocals of Venus performed by Mariska Veres and its lyrics and vocal back were done by Robbie van Leeuwen. This song was also covered by Bananarama in 1986 (it reminds me of MJ's music style).

what is enjoyable for me in this song is not only the guitars and vocals but also the Rhodes sound which adds a nice feeling to this music.

I thought it is good to add the Banjo Song by The Big 3 (an American folk trio, they were active from 1962 to1964), members of the band were: Cass Elliot (Vocalist), Tim Rose (singer-songwriter-banjo player), Jim Hendricks (singer-guitarist), as you can hear in this original version the middle vocals melody was used in the same way:

And here is the cover of Bananarama (English pop girl group from '80s, formed in London ) they changed the song to a kind of dance and electronic pop music:


I hope you liked this review, let me know your idea about this song,

Regards,

@davidfar

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63549.46
ETH 2562.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66