NEW CONTEST: Your favorite children's story by @ceestitches


source

Hello friends.
Howdy?

During my childhood days, though I didn’t meet my grandparents to tell me some interesting stories, I came to meet closed relatives like mom, dad, uncles, aunties and Cousins, who told me a lot of stories my grandma told them. I really enjoyed the stories they told me though because they were more like a mystery to me. But the one I really got touched with, was my mom’s story and that’s the one I want to share here.

MY STORY

I grew up to see my mom as a very hardworking woman but then, she cried most times, and I usually asked her why?? But she wouldn’t tell me, she would always say I won’t understand her predicament but when I reached the age of 13, my mom sat me down and said she wanted to answer the questions I usually ask her and I was so happy I’ll know what’s always bothering her and making her cry.

My mom started by telling me how many siblings they were, which I already knew and she told me that she only had a dad but I asked her about her mom and she said she was going to tell me about it. My mom and her siblings were abandoned by their mom, to marry another man because my mom’s dad (grandfather) wasn’t educated, so she married an educated man and left my grandfather too. My mom said that when she left her and her siblings, none of them reached the age of 6. So, my grandfather took care of his children with their only means of survival which was FARMING. My mom also told me that her and her siblings have not for one day, finished their secondary education because the only money their father raised, was to feed the family. She then told me this shocking part of the story, that when they went to the stream to get water, as small as they were, they drowned inside the water, if not for a very compassionate palm wine tapper, who rushed down from the palm tree to rescue them. I cried the day she told me the story. She said that she had suffered since childhood till she got married and one thing she said that gave me joy was when she said “I’m happy at least, I have what to feed my children, cater for them and send them to school, I’m happy I have more than my father had to give us.”

She also said that when her mom found out that they were doing well in life, that they had what to eat, clothe and cater for themselves, she sent her sister to come and plead for forgiveness from her children and meanwhile, she also gave birth to two children for the second husband, but still left the man. I don’t know why it was that way but I know by now, she has regretted her actions.

This story teaches mostly mothers, to bear any pain in life, take care of their children, no matter what they’re going through because God will surely make a way one day.

This story was told by my mother during my childhood which I still remember, I really love telling people who really think they can’t make it in life this story.

thank you @belenguerra, @writingnreviews & @fendit

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Thank you very much for joining and sharing such an amazing post and story!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58211.91
ETH 2476.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38