I found love at laststeemCreated with Sketch.

in Writing & Reviews3 years ago

The story inside the story.

It happened few years ago. The year was 2018. Though it has just been 3 years that it happened, the pain it left behind lasted for almost forever.

I was in love with this lady. At first, I never knew it would metamorphose into something serious because I only had a harmless crush on her. The crush led to friendship. We became friends for almost half a year. We would do virtually EVERYTHING together. In all honesty, it was such an unforgettable memory. It was filled with so much laugher, smiles and almost everything good you can ever think of.

Our friendship was envied by those who were close to us. Somewhere along the line, I got carried away by her charms. The feeling was so strong for me to resist. So, I gave in. I asked her out for a relationship. When I did, I was scared it would end in rejection. Unknown to me, I didn't know she has long waited for me to make the first move. Without pretense, she agreed to be my Empress as I have also unreservedly given myself to her as her Emperor.

We started the relationship. It was more like a heaven - on- Earth kind of experience. Everyday was more like the repetition of the former because it was all round euphoric. Everything was going smoothly until the 11th month after we officially started having a relationship. Her attitude changed. My best was no longer good enough. I was scared of losing her because she was all that mattered to me.
So, I asked her,

*"Treasure, have you found another man? What was I supposed to be doing that I am not doing? What happened to you? "

My questions were welcomed by a long silence from her. Suddenly, she gave me the "Nothing" kind of answer. Funnily enough, even though she was no longer giving me one reason to keep on loving her, I was giving myself 101 reasons to continue loving. Perhaps she hypnotized me(I didn't know this until after we broke up). I have been in love before I met her but meeting her changed everything - it felt like I have never truly being in love with her.

IMG_20200804_235513_476.jpg
(My fiancee and I)

I can remember how tears uncontrollably watered my cheek when I was explaining to her how my world would fall apart if she left my life. In the space of 1 month, she invited me to a spot where we used to meet. I thought she was going to apologize to me on how much she has changed towards me and maybe some words of assurance of doing things differently to make up for the lost time her lack of attention, care and love took away from us, from me. How wrong was I! I thought I was dreaming when she said, "Ben(that was the first time she ever called me by my name since I met her), I don't think I could continue anymore. It is over." Those words hit me so hard that I felt speechless and practically unconscious for close to 30 seconds. "What?" That was the only word that escaped from my mouth. At first, I thought she was kidding until she walked out of me. I tried to stop her but she didn't want to be stopped. I watched her left until her presence faded away, leaving behind only her memory.

FB_IMG_1616022309781~2.jpg
(My fiancee and I)

The experience is still as fresh as yesterday, even though it has been 3 years now. I cried my eyes out. I had countless sleepless nights. My bed was soaked with endless tears. I concluded that my end was near as there was nothing else to live for.

The pains, heart ache, tears, sleepless nights lasted for 1 month. I didn't know God had other bigger plans for me until I met my Sunshine, my present girlfriend. She is everything I have ever prayer for (and even more). Today, I feel like I have never felt pains , shed tears, had sleepless nights before. Her entrance into my life is the best magic that has ever existed on planet Earth. It has been 2 years that we have been together. Our love is still waxing stronger on daily basis. I love her so much because her presence has erased every pains, tears and heart ache that I have ever known.

Soon, by God's grace, I will be sharing another version of the story - "My Wedding Day With My World". Hold on for it.

Please, wish us well.

My heart goes out to anyone out there who has been heartbroken by those they love(d). Stay put! You will find love again.

Thank you for taking out time to read my story.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60880.32
ETH 3371.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52