The Suicide Squad (2021) Review

in Writing & Reviews3 years ago

the suicide squad.jpg

src

I think most of us knows who James Gunn is and while everybody loves his job in the cinema world, I have to say I´m not too fond of the guy, I just don´t seem why everybody loves his way of directing films so much. I think he won some popularity due to its work in Guardians of the Galaxy Vol I and Vol II and I´ve got to say I think those movies are overrated, they are a festival of bad jokes and a lot of cringe scenes which are not funny but I can understand that, it´s known that Marvel Studios doesn´t let too much creativity freedom to their directors so when I heard that he was going to direct the new Suicide Squad film which DC Studios was going to let him have all the creativity freedom he wanted, well, I couldn´t help to feel curious and in the end I decided to give an oportunity to The Suicide Squad and finally I was able to watch it a few days ago.

The Suicide Squad is literally what it means, a story about a group of dangerous criminals which are given the task to do the ¨cleaning¨job that the government has to do, meaning they have to do a really dangerous mission and if they succed I think they´ll be given freedom, the thing is, this mission is a suicide one, I mean, there are low percentages of victory, that´s why criminals are supposed to do this kind of job.

the suicide squad 2.jpg

src

It´s not that easy to make a film about a group of people, in this case a group of villains, all of them has their own world and personality, so making them to have a good chemistry it´d be more difficult than someone realizes, even if I don´t like too much the work of James Gunn I have to say he has a gift to make a random group of people to have good chemistry, the characters of this movie fit so well between them that feels good to watch them talking or doing whatever thing, even eso, the characters by their own are interesting with their own background and motivations which is great, the movie actually takes a little bit of its time to show this which is appreciated.

There are certain things that I can´t deny, for example, James Gunn is good at directing action sequences, this movie actually has a lot of action which is kinda normal but the choreographies are so well done that it´s feel great to see the characters fighting, plus this a movie with a lot of gore, something that super hero fans are unable to watch even today since companies are not up to this stuff, when you take that into account, a film like this will make a big impression obviously, I have to say I was impressed with the high gore content of The Suicide Squad, it´s a little explicit sometimes, I don´t mind tho.

the suicide squad 3.jpeg

src

There is this cool part of The Suicide Squad when the movie presents a dilemma if it´s good to keep the reality of things and not let poblation to know about it in order to keep peace, reality is often disappointing and the truth can be painful, society as a whole tends to make big disasters when they know the truth about something hairy, is it better to hide the truth to keep people quiet or tell them the truth even if you know that will make a big disaster? That´s an interesting dilemma the movie dropped and hoped the whole films was like that all the time but sadly it only happens once or twice.

In my personal opinion, I liked The Suicide Squad, it´s cool, however, I think the reason why stands out so much is because of the gore content, there is a tendency lately when a hero film is acclaimed by the audcience whenever it has gore or not, making it look like is mature when is not, not saying the movie isn´t good enough by its own, all I´m saying is that the gore left a huge impression in everyone and that´s why is receiving so many good scores everywhere, I´ll be honest, I felt The Suicide Squad is more of the same, there is not much difference when you take into account other films about a group or heroes or villains. I´ll repeat it again, I´m not saying is a bad movie, I think it´s actually better than the previous Suicide Squad, The Suicide Squad has so many good things by its own, but I don´t think is the masterpiece everybody is talking about, as simple as that.

the suicide squad 4.jpg

src

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63878.47
ETH 2625.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79