How to make puto, a famous Filipino steamed rice cake

in Food3 years ago

Hello loves! Since I think every person in the world will like this simple yet tasty Filipino delicacy, I've decided to share my easy recipe to all of you here. Even though it's very simple, it is very delicious and fun to make.

image.png

I used to run a business on selling puto and though I stopped, I can say that I really enjoyed making it and seeing the joy that it brought to the people around me. Here are some actual photos of the putos that I sold last year.

image.png

Ingredients:

Cheese

1 cup flour

1/2 cup white sugar

1 tbsp baking powder

1 pc egg

1/4 cup fresh milk

3/4 cup water

1 tbsp melted butter

Let's start!

On a mixing bowl, mix the dry ingredients. Use a sifter to remove powder lumps. First is the flour, then the sugar and lastly, the baking powder. Mix well and set it aside.

On another mixing bowl, mix the rest of the ingredients. Start with the egg, then the melted butter, add the milk, add the water then lastly, put some grated cheese. Atleast 1/4 cup of grated cheese to 1/2 cup. The grated cheese is optional but I highly recommend it for a much more tasty puto.

Mix well and put the mixture on the dry ingredients. Mix it again but make sure not to overdo it. Set it aside for 10 minutes.

While waiting, start cutting your cheese into small rectangular pieces. Open your stove and start boiling the water on your steamer, then grease your plastic puto molds with butter. Grease only the bottom of your molds and not the sides.

When it's done, you can now put the batter in each mold and top it with the cheese.

Steam it for exactly 10 minutes. You must set a timer if you don't want to overcook and ruin your puto. After ten minutes, it's done and now you have your home-made puto or rice cake. Once you master this, you can start putting twists or other special flavors to your puto.

If you have any questions and suggestion, just ask me and I'll answer to my best ability.

Sort:  

Hello :

I see this user is new to the steemit platform. About 11 hours ago, this user shared her first post in the SteemFoods Community and I gave an informative comment to our user about the SteemFoods Community. As an extra, this user joined the Verification System and I verified her account.

eyikes.png


As an extra, I announced the 'Best SteemFoods Posts of the Day' on 19.03.2021 on @steemitfoods account. Can you check these posts when you are available? Thank you very much for your support.


Best Regards.... @steemcurator01

Hello :

Welcome to Steemit.

You can share your delicious recipes in SteemFoods Community. 11 hours ago I see you post your first post on SteemFoods Community. In the delicious recipes you prepare, I recommend you to add a selfie photo with the food you prepared. I see that you are participating in the verification system, you can learn how to prepare high quality + steem-exclusive content by examining the post below. :)

How Can I Produce Quality + Steem-Exclusive Content in the SteemFoods Community?


@eyikes

Great recipe ✌️ thank u 👍 I will try it

Thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27