SteemTV #8 : Meet the African Safari Music group !

in Hot News Communitylast year (edited)

Hi guys, It's another week with SteemTV, and I just want to say... Welcome to SteemTV Show....!

Today's SteemTV focuses on Music and not just music but a special way of playing music.



I’ll like to show you all a special musical instrument in my city and a group of kids that are trying to come up with their creativity using this instrument. My mind is telling me that they deserve some awards.



I went to their house to watch them do a rehearsal for their upcoming event and trust me, it was impressive!


Out of excitement, I was already playing with my Imagination.



But do you know?

What is music? Do you like Music? What does music really mean to you? Have you been motivated by music before? What musical instrument do you enjoy listening to the most? Have you heard any African music played with a traditional instrument before…?



Maybe I have answers to all the questions above; I am pretty much sure you also have your own answers as well.

But I am going to answer the very first question because that will give you a clue of what this content is all about…MUSIC!

What is music?

Music in a nutshell is generally a vocal which is our natural possession or instrumental sound that is combined, such that it can produce beauty or form harmony and expression of emotions. – Reference


In other words, I will say that it is a form of an art and cultural activity whose medium is sound organized in time and this will be proven today on SteemTV.



Who are these kids?

These are lovely kids from different parents in my community who picked an interest in playing music. They are the African music safari group. They are available to perform on any occasion for entertainment purposes.


Their coach wants them to go viral and I thought of featuring them here on the steemit platform. I asked if he could teach people who are interested to learn this instrument online here on the steemit platform, and he said he will consider that when he is back from the occasion he traveled to perform in a different state/province. We might be learning how to play the xylophone soon..!

The Musical instrument?

The major musical instrument used by these kids to produce this music is a xylophone and a wooden drum.

Xylophone is a percussion instrument consisting of a series of wooden bars graduated in length to produce the musical scale, supported on belts of straw or felt, and sounded by striking with two small wooden hammers. - Source

And in my native language, a xylophone is called "Ikon Eto", while the wooden drum is called "Obodom".

This duo can entertain a full concert, it is also related to our origin(the Ibibios) such was used in the olden times to communicate with people.



The music

They are playing a cover version of "common person" by Burna boy. I will show you the original version of the song by the singer and there after, I will show you the version these kids played using the xylophone.

And below is the a cover Version by The African safari music group:

These Kids are wonderful..!!

I hope you've enjoyed our show today 😊. If you want to know more about SteemTV do pop along and listen in.

If you would like to come on one of my shows message me on Discord (ubongudofot#9499) or telegram : Cantact Me



SteemTV…bringing real life to the blog!!

See you next week Saturday for another Interesting content!!



Cast a witness vote for @pennsif.witness


Vote here

About Me

Sort:  
 last year 

My mum tells us so much about the wooden xylophone"iKon eto" and the wooden drum "obodom"they rhyme do melodiously when a music is played especially during special events.

I love music but with your many post on music, I'm beginning to think you love music more than I do.

Can't wait for next week Saturdays edition.

 last year 

That's interesting to hear. Your mum must be a lover of music....

Those two instrument cool the soul, I just can't get my mind off the rhythms and the feelings it gives.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts...!

Wow!!!
Nothing short of creativity, talent and passion. These kids are awesome, bringing another perspective to music.

Weldone @ubongudofot for coming up with this beautiful series. Can't wait to learn something as captivating and enlightening as this next week. Keep up the good work!!!

 last year 

They are ! 😊

I love the creativity..., the energy and the great vibes from those kids. They are actually doing what they really love doing and that's why they are doing it well...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63476.83
ETH 3413.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50