My thoughts On Press4Steem 💻

in Hot News Community2 years ago (edited)



After reading the publication ➡ A new project from SteemWOW & Pennsif by @rexthetechand and Announcing Press4Steem by @pennsif about the new tool they are working on as a witness in the blockchain, I am moved to share my thoughts.



It's worth a read if you're interested in technical innovations like that.



A little thoughts on WordPress

Most folks who use websites have heard of WordPress on many occasions, I heard about it a long time ago, at first it wasn’t clear but due to my constant usage of the web and proper research, it became much clearer to me and how to use it, I first Play with it way back 2013 during one of my university projects. It was cumbrous, and difficult to use, but it did the job, just. Besides, I didn’t have a choice. I needed to learn it to do my project back then…...,but I won’t say I’m a Pro, I can only rate myself 60%.



Maybe I should share a little knowledge I know about it with you….

From the little information I know, WordPress is a free, open-source Content Management System that is used for building websites of all types and different sizes, launched way back in 2003…I guess.



Due to its efficiency, it is now used by over 455 million websites representing more than a third of all websites around the globe just in 2022, of which over 70 million new blog posts appear each month on it …. Folks did you hear that…!!!
Isn’t that Impressive…?



This didn’t happen overnight, it took time to get to that status.



It was also quite revolutionary I guess, for its time allowing folks to create websites without needing third-party software like Dreamweaver or Frontpage.....

Due to its 'decentralized' nature, anyone could build a website and host it anywhere of their choice…I never did one though, because I was always afraid of making a mistake…….maybe I could join some practice section now…



But it was still rather for the 'technically aware.



Gradually though it built up a following, gained market share, and attracted more and more developers to build 'addons' for WordPress in the form of plugins and themes to extend the capabilities of the core system.



Ten years after its launch, WordPress 2019 had a 34% share of the website market. And now we are talking about 65%.



Now WordPress is very much the go-to starting point for many who want an open-source website.



It has got ever more capable and even easier to use.



Could Steem become the go-to platform for the tokenized web?

I think that’s the idea behind this collaboration between these two users to create this innovation and it’s a great idea if you understand how the digital world works....



Steem is only six years old. WordPress was still tiny at the equivalent point in its history. It had only just released its Version which is the major version, and no one really knew if it would stay the course back then.



Let’s think for a moment

If this initiative by these two users is finally set in place as they promised to launch soon before 2023…Imagine Steem in ten years' time, say 2030...

What do you think will happen..?

Here are my thoughts in this little brain of mine below…:


Tens of thousands of developers are continually developing apps, dapps, tools, and add-ons based on steem.


The Steem blockchain will be like WordPress's Automattic, still contributing to Steem's core development but also looking at commercial opportunities and acquisitions..., more developers will troop in for more developments...


Maybe by then, I may become a developer, the few thousand active steemians that are here now will be the pioneers of this platform...

And the price of STEEM will hit the sky...

And my last word to you all now…?

Try and use the Press4Steem tool once it is launched...!!!

It's gonna be loud...great features are inclusive ...like a translator, Grammer check...etc.


And here is what @rexthetech told me....:

"It will certainly be compatible with free plugins like WProofreader.
Together with the comfortable Gutenburg editor that WordPress has had for a while now, it could make for a really nice posting experience without having to worry about markdown.
When we do the crosspost to Steem, your layout gets converted to markdown automatically; we're using turndown.js for that.
I'm sure that we can deliver it before 2023"



Maybe at a subsequent time, I will like to get your feedback once you use it...for now let's anticipate the great tool that is landing soon.

Maybe @rexthetech or any other developer shall launch a multi-sig wallet, an all-in-one tool which I indicated here in this post here someday which has always been my request and hope.



Support them by voting for their Witnesses

Pennsif is currently funding the Press4Steem project from his own resources but they are hoping that their witness's earnings will grow to allow maximum development time to be allocated to Press4Steem.

If you think Press4Steem will be a useful addition to the Steem platform, and you would like to support their work, I will really appreciate your support for their witnesses @pennsif.witness and @steemwow. I have voted, it remains you...!

You can vote for them on Steemworld.org or through the Steemit Wallet...

@pennsif.witness is currently at #23 and @steemwow at #93.



About Me



[ graphics by @freelance.monkey ]

Sort:  
 2 years ago 

Hello @ponpase,

The press4steem project is based on the same concept with that of steempress but with more modifications and interesting features.

I think @pennsif highlighted that in part of his post.


As a long time WordPress user, when I discovered that @rexthetech and his SteemWOW partner @freelance.monkey both have high level WordPress development skills, I mentioned the idea of linking WordPress sites with Steem that I had previously experienced through the now defunct SteemPress plugin.

The rest, as they say, is history...
@rexthetech took a look at what could still be accessed of the old SteemPress plugin, but decided that as WordPress had moved on significantly since then, it would be much better to start from scratch.

Source

Yes indeed it is based on the same concept, WordPress technology has moved on from the days of SteemPress.

So it is doubtful that SteemPress, if it were still available, would work.

I mention SteemPress twice in my post...

We are working on steemdapps web.. Soon you will see all steem related social media sites and steem tools at one place

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68068.52
ETH 3873.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64