SEC S5W3: News Diary Game : Nearby Dam flooded my street(October 27, 2022)

in Hot News Communitylast year

AddText_10-27-09.05.24.jpgdesigned on add text app

Hello friends

Am so excited to be in this week's engagement challenge. And the theme for this week is a very interesting one, allowing us share news update of what is happening in our locality. Am here to share mine too. Stay tuned because am reporting live from Bariga in the city of Lagos Nigeria.


I woke up as usual by 5am to a very beautiful morning. Carried out my morning routines like prayers and little house chores and I was done by 10am


For some time now over here in Bariga where I live , we have not had light and no one knows why. So it's either you stay in darkness at night or you use the electricity powered by a generator.


The weather has been very hot too especially at night. I barely sleep. I was tired of the hot weather at night so I decided to call a generator technician to come over and service my generator so I can fuel it and use it.


I quickly called him on phone and when he came, he told me that my street was flooded. He said he had to walk into the water because he didn't want to disappoint me. I thought he was actually joking.


IMG_20221025_140938_241.jpgmy generator technician fixing the generatorwhat3words

He went on to start fixing the gen, he asked me if I have fuel and I told him no. He then told me of the fuel scarcity, he opted to help me buy fuel from black market( road side vendor).


Fixing my gen took alot of time, about 2 hours and I had to stay with the technician watching him work. You know over here you can't really trust this technicians. Once you remove your attention from them, they might take something out from the generator and sell it back to you. So I was conscious of that, I didn't leave his sight.

IMG_20221025_144615_467.jpg my generator technician when he was done with fixing the generator

Finally he was done with the generator and I paid him off. I paid him 3500 naira for his service which equivalent of 35 steem, I gave him 1500 naira for fuel which is 15 steem..Thats a total of 5000 naira which is 50 steem.


I became really hungry and wanted to eat but there was nothing in the house. I decided to go out to check for what to eat, lo and behold, when I went outside the gate, I saw my street was really flooded.

IMG_20221027_094142_574.jpgmy street floodedwhat3words


You might ask if it rained? No it didn't rain. I live in Lagos city and it may interest you to know that Lagos is surrounded by water. I heard there is a Dam nearby, and the Dam is flooded so lately every morning and evening the Dam is opened so that the water can reduce but they don't even care if it affects the mases. My street does not have a good drainage so each time the water from the dam is released, it floods my street with water.


IMG_20221027_094138_769.jpgThe flood when it reduced alitle

I waited for about 4 hours hungry so that the water can dry up alitle. I finally got out of the house and went to a nearby market to get some items like a cartoon of noodles and some provisions like beverages. The noodles cost 3100 naira which is 31 steem, and the beverages cost 6,550 naira which is 65.5 steem . Total cost is 9650 naira which is 96.5 steem. I could not post pictures of my market exploits and things I bought because I don't want to have alot of pictures here.


It was already 5pm in the evening. I prepared my noodles and had the noodles with chilled coca cola since the weather was still very hot even though it's already evening.

IMG_20221027_150456_994.jpgmy garnished noodles


After my meal I tried to switch on my generator to enjoy the cool air from my fan and see some Nigerian nolly wood movie on gotv decoder. My generator worked perfectly well, I was really glad I was able to fix it today.

IMG_20221027_194945_720.jpgseeing a movie on Television


After a while, I decided to drop my diary post tonight for the engagement. made some comments.

This was how I spent spent hours waiting for the flood in my street to go down..flood, electricity blackout and fuel scarcity is the news of the day around here in Bariga. I hope things get better.

Thank you for reading..

I invite my friends to join this contest @lhorgic @temitopef @sahmie. @msquaretk @okere-blessing

Sort:  
 last year 

Lagos is indeed surrounded with water, I guess Lagos was the very first state to experience the flood that is now rampant in most state in Nigeria. May God help us.

A part of your post also caught my attention, you said the mechanic could remove something from the gen and sell that same thing to you if you don't supervise them closely...

That's not fair on their path o, Lagos and this tricky lifestyle. Apologies to the inhabitants o o. Anyways it's good to know he got it fixed. Enjoy your gen!

 last year 

Yes my friend, alot of people with hand work over here are not sincere at all. I have seen an instance where a mechanic removed that battery of a man's car and replaces it with a bad one. He then told the owner of the car that his battery needs to be replaced. The mechanic ended up selling back the original battery back to the man. Can you imagine? But the man was sharp enough to know that it was his battery that was sold to him. Lagos na WA!

 last year 

You had a wonderful day just that you had to stay hungry for a while for the flood to dry up a little, it is good you were able to fix your generator as you will be able to use it when there is no electricity.

Flood this year is something else o, it has destroyed a lot of properties here in Nigeria and some other countries as well, and some people even lost their lives. May God saves the world at large.

Thank you for sharing your day with us and good luck with the contest.

 last year 

You had an amazing day except for keeping yourself hungry. My God, I can't remember the last time I saw a 1-man carrier Generator, you are truly lucky to have someone who still fixes your type of generator.

About the flood in your area, it's good to see it didn't take long, unlike ours which has been over a month.

Thank you for the invitation and for sharing it with us and good luck with the contest.

TEAM 3 CURATORS

Congratulations!
This post has been upvoted through steemcurator06.
We support quality posts anywhere and any tags.
Curated by : @nadeesew

Team 3.jpg

 last year 

Thank you so much for the upvote

 last year 
Description
Information
Score
Status Club
club75
1.5
Plagiarism Free
🟢
1
#steemexlusive
🟢
1
Bot Free
🟢
1
300 Words
🟢
1
Markdown Style
1
Quality Content
2.3
Total Score
8.8

Voting CSI | 24.0 ( 0.00 % self, 125 upvotes, 83 accounts, last 7d )

Determination of Club Status refers to the https://steemworld.org/transfer-search Web-based Application

Verification Date
October 28, 2022
O'clock10.46 AM [Indonesia Time]
Get Upvote6
Valid Comments from Other Users2
Note
Thank you for sharing information and stories to all of us in the Hot News Community, success to you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64341.19
ETH 3145.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00