Contest !! The poet of my heart (crossing the bar)

in Hot News Communitylast year

InShot_20230205_163024969.jpg
edited on inshot



Hello Steemians how are you all doing I hope all is well, today as I was surfing 🌊 through the steemit platform I came across this amazing contest in the Hot News Community organized by @cryptoloover with the theme "the poet of my heart".


So in my entry today I will be sharing with you guys the poet after my heart, they one who's poetry inspires me so much and time I read his poetry it reflects and touches my heart.


WHICH LANGUAGE DO YOU USE IN LITERATURE AND WHICH LANGUAGE DO YOU LIKE FOR POETRY?

The language which I use most in literature is English because even in our secondary school days there used to call it literature in English, and I also like English for poetry also because it makes it simpler to understand


WHO IS YOUR FAVOURITE POET IN YOUR LANGUAGE, WRITE ABOUT HIM/HER?

So the name of the legendary poet after my heart is Alfred, Lord Tennyson by and the title of his poetry which I love so much is "Crossing the Bar".


Alfred lord Tennyson known as 1st Baron Tennyson was born on 6 august 1809 and died in 6 October 1892, he was an English poet during the reign of queen Victoria in 1829, and some of his accomplishment is that he was awarded a chancellor's gold 🥇 medal at Cambridge for one of his first poetry "Timbuktu".


WRITE ABOUT HIS POPULAR POETRY, BOOKS, LINES, etc.

Even though Alfred lord Tennyson had written a lot of amazing popular poetry but the one which is after my heart is crossing 🚸 the bar.


Crossing the bar was a poem written by Alfred, Lord Tennyson in 1889 and it was considered to be an elegy which he uses metaphor to compare death with crossing the sandbar.



Sunset and evening star,
And one clear call for me!
And may there be no moaning of the bar,
When I put out to sea,

But such a tide as moving seems asleep,
Too full for sound and foam,
When that which drew from out the boundless deep
Turns again home.

Twilight and evening bell,
And after that the dark!
And may there be no sadness of farewell,
When I embark;

For tho' from out our bourne of Time and Place
The flood may bear me far,
I hope to see my Pilot face to face
When I have crost the bar.

poetry source



Having reading the poetry you have seen how interesting it is, the poet trys to use euphemism to talk about a serious situation but in a mile way, and the line which I like most in his poetry is "I hope to see my Pilot face to face
When I have crost the bar" that's words that has big meaning


Thank you all for reading my post and I would like to invite @edidiongeffiong @esusaviour @sofian88 @ngoenyi @steemdoctor01


Written by
@radleking

Sort:  
 last year 

Lovely entry bro, thanks so much for the invite, i will definitely participate
Success 👍

 last year 

Alright

 last year 

Hey @radleking

Alfred lord Tennyson was a great poet. You have increased my knowledge about him. I am very surprised to see that he was in the era of queen victoria. It was a golden era. The lines you have quoted are also very heart touching.

Poetry helps us to understand the inner us. Thats why the poets are another creature of God.

Overall you have done a great job. Keeo steeming and keep loving each other

Best regards: @tayyab100

 last year 

Thanks bro indeed his poetry was so heart touching

 last year 

Thanks for participation in the contest ✅

 last year 

Thanks I really appreciate

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66745.34
ETH 3326.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71