Steemit Engagement Challenge S5-W1|My traditional Wear: Senator and Adire.

in Hot News Community2 years ago

InShot_20221011_161726557-01.jpeg


Am so happy to be here. Let me use this privilege to congratulate this noble community for being part of the selected community for this season. Last season was indeed awesome and am sure this will be far better than the previous.

I went through this contest post and found it really interesting and engaging. After reading throughly I deemed it fit to make my entry for this contest. I hope you find my entry interesting. Enjoy!

Introduction

We all are from different geographical location and also have our different culture which is our way of life. There are things peculiar to certain people and locations, this also include language and attire and food.

Having establish this,I will be sharing with us my native attire. Am from Nigeria and we have different cultural attire. I personally have some native wear and I will like to talk about it in this post.


Senator Wear


The first native outfit I would like to share with us is what I call "Senator Material Outfit"

iMarkup_20221005_122402.jpg

iMarkup_20221011_154317.jpgiMarkup_20221011_154417.jpg

This material seems to be very popular in this part of the world. The cloths comes in different style, texture and material. They are also in sizes and qualities. It's affordable but then you are free to get whichever you can afford.

iMarkup_20221011_154715.jpg

Personal I like senator material and and,it the very first native materia I fell in love with. Kindly check out more below designs below. I decided to load you with picture for your perusal.


Adire.


The second is Adire. This is another native wear I love so much. It can be worn in different way. You can also freestyle with it depending on how well you know how to combine it. Well am still a learner when it comes to fashion but I think i know how to rock my styles.

IMG-20221009-WA0006.jpg

IMG-20221009-WA0005.jpgIMG-20221009-WA0003.jpg

How much can one cost? (Give price both in your local currency and steem)


Like I mentioned earlier, it comes in different sizes and qualities but most importantly, the prices of these material varies. The amount they sell it in one location might vary in another and this is due to factors like cost of transportation and the likes.

The last time I checked, I bought my very first senator material at the rate of N7000 (41 steem) for just about 3 yards without the cost of sewing and the second was about N5000 (30 steem) plus sewing. I really do not like putting on native, it was my first trial that convinced me and now I have more than one native wears in my wardrobe.

Normally the above mentioned price in most cases is just the cost price of the material, there's always an additional cost of sewing as you need to sew it your taste and according to your design. The cost of sewing here varies depending on how competent the tailor or the fashion designer is a d the the type of style you want to sew. Well in my own case, I wasn't charged outrageously because the person who made my outfit is my friend. He was leinient with me.

In summary.

MaterialYard/sizeCost in steemsSewing cost in steems
Senator3 - 5 yards41 - 60 steems17 - 30 steems

This is on the average though. There are some place where you are charged higher than the above stated amount due to difference in location and other related factors.


What is their durability?


These outfit are really durable and can last long depending on the quality you bought. If you buy a material of lower quality it won't last that much. It might fade off in a very short time but when you go for something with a very high quality you would enjoy it as it will serve you better.

It expedient that we go for material that will save us from wasteful spendings. Buying a cheap material in the name of saving cost will end up exposing you to more unwarranted expenses because you would find out at the end of the day that it wasn't the best choice afterall.


Do you think it can be allowed to be worn in other places?


Yes of course, any cloth you look good in and doesn't negate the code of conduct of other places is good to go. Clothes like this can be worn to church, market, office (on Friday's or any casual day though) naming ceremony, weddings and the likes.

But wisdom demands that if a cloth is not fit for certain occasion, you have to lay it aside and put on what is required. This is where I need to balance my take on the above question.


Are there any similarities between your local wear and other parts of the world?


Yea! Most of the native outfit we put on is also common with other African countries. I will cite Ghana as a very good example. There are outfit we put on here that are also peculiar to the ghanians, maybe because it's a neighbouring country and we share some values.

Generally most African countries share the same native outfit with us . We also put on some of theirs as well, this way we express and show how much we have bonded even as neighbours.

Thanks you so much for your valuable time. I hope you enjoyed the ride to this point.
I will like to invite @ruthjoe @josepha and @olabillions

Regards:
@lhorgic♥️

Sort:  
 2 years ago (edited)
Description
Information
Score
Status Club
club75
1.5
Plagiarism Free
🟢
1
#steemexlusive
🟢
1
Bot Free
🟢
1
300 Words
🟢
1
Markdown Style
1
Quality Content
2.5
Total Score
9

Voting CSI | 14.2 ( 0.00 % self, 105 upvotes, 69 accounts, last 7d )

Determination of Club Status refers to the https://steemworld.org/transfer-search Web-based Application

Verification Date
October 12, 2022
O'clock06.58 AM [Indonesia Time]
Get Upvote8
Valid Comments from Other Users2
Note
Cool.... looks like you like the color blue, the epitome of loyalty. Whoever wears this outfit looks like a leader, success to you my friend.
 2 years ago 

Yea I really do love the colour blue, you're right with the qualities associated with the colour blue. Thanks for your evaluation, it is much appreciated.

 2 years ago 

You fell in love with the senator style and now can't seem to get enough of it. I just love how African attires have a way of bringing someone's beauty out and colour out. If a hood tailor handles your clothe, you will enjoy it on your skin.

 2 years ago 

Yes dear you're right, when a good tailor handles one's clothes, it sure gonna come out well. Thanks for your encouraging comment, I really do appreciate it. I will be looking forward to your entry as well.

 2 years ago (edited)

Honestly, friend who so ever that sew your senator wear deserve and award. The fashion designer did well and I most see that it makes you look handsome. Indeed native wears fit you so much. Thank you for inviting me.

 2 years ago 

Thanks so much dear friend. This comment makes me feel like am on top of the world lol... Thanks for dropping by again. I wish you the very best dear friend.

 2 years ago 

Hi my friend..you look cool with senator wear , and also you look trendy with adire wear.. I like both of them. Thanks for sharing an inspiring post. All best wishes for you..

 2 years ago 

Thank you so much dear. I really appreciate your warm comment on my post. Thanks for visiting dear.

 2 years ago 

Pakaian anda sangat sesuai dengan gaya anda ya teman. Selamat menikmati harimu

 2 years ago 

Thank you dear friend. I appreciate your comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63578.99
ETH 2611.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85