Steemit Engagement Challenge S5-W1|My traditional Wear: Four shades me looking cute

in Hot News Community2 years ago

Well, I never thought that a day would come when I would write about my traditional wear but thank god for this contest. Guess what? I am thrilled to be sharing this side of me that is not known to everyone. I am a lover of native wear, and as a Nigerian, they are a long list of native attire that I could wear, but unfortunately, for the sack of this contest and the title of this post, I will be sharing just four shades of me in my native wear.

So, I will be answering questions based on the questions highlighted and centralized in the header. Enjoy and happy reading.

What are your native wear Names? Talk about each of them if many

As I said, I have a lot of native wear, but for the sake of this contest, I will be sharing the different shades of me on different senator wears, which I sew. Just as a reference, all the pictures I am sharing are me rocking the senator-styled cloth using different forms of fabrics, which include:

  • Cashmere and
  • Viscose

Also, the colours of the Senators wear I have are listed below;

  • White
  • Blue
  • Grey
  • Burgundy

WhatsApp Image 2022-10-14 at 22.59.49.jpeg

How much can one cost? (Give price both in your local currency and steem)

All my native wears cost pretty much the same, given the accessories I used, such as glasses, bags, footwear and chains, are not added to the cost. So I use four yards of clothes as I tend to fall to the chubby (fat) side. 1 yard costs 2,000 naira and I also sew my cloth by paying the fashion designer 5,000 naira. In summary, each look costs:

1 yards cost is 2,000 Naira

8,000 (Four yards of Material) + 5,000 (Sewing) = 13,000 naira.
13,000 Naira is the equivalent of 30 dollars
30 dollars = 134.3441987935891 Steem (Rate gotten from coingecko)

WhatsApp Image 2022-10-14 at 22.59.50.jpeg

What is their durability?)

Aside from the senator's wear being fashionable, the quality of materials used to sew these outfits is highly durable. The quality is top-notch, and the material will suit perfectly regardless of the weather, either cold or hot. Cashmere materials are also always thick; this way, they can survive wear and tear in the long run.

Also, maintaining the material is also cheap as all I need to do is to wash when dirty to remove stains from the cloth. Wash, rinse well and dry under the sun to dry. After the cloth has dripped off all water, it could be ironed, folded, hung, and kept in a calm environment free of water.

WhatsApp Image 2022-10-14 at 22.59.51 (1).jpeg

Do you think it can be allowed to be worn in other places?

What makes Senator wears popular is that they can be worn to many places, and one will not feel out of place. The versatility of senator wears makes them the idle style because one Senator could wear be worn to:

  • Church
  • Office
  • A date
  • A birthday Celebration
  • A wedding
  • Burial ceremony
  • All other types of functions that exist.

Think of Senator wear as a Size fit all event outfit

WhatsApp Image 2022-10-14 at 22.59.51.jpeg

Are there any similarities between your local wear and other parts of the world?)

While Senator wears might be the local wear for some (eastern and southern parts of Nigeria, I enjoy wearing it due to the comfort and versatility of it. Like most Neighbouring African countries, Senator wears are being sewed with their local fabric materials, and it might not necessarily come out like the one above. Still, the basics are always the same and can be spotted miles ahead.

Senator wears remains unique to the Southern and eastern parts of the country, but many countries are already seeing the fashion side of it and are adopting it. Even as a Yoruba boy, I love rocking the Senator's wear as it makes me look mature and responsible.

NOTE: All pictures were been captured by iPhone 11 Pro Max, and I am the one in all the pictures above.
Pictures should be used after permission has been taken from me

Let me know which outfit you love best on me in the Comment Box



Calling on the following people to join the contest:

Sort:  
 2 years ago (edited)

Hi my friend..you look so great and cool with your native wears..the color also so good on you. You choose it very well. Thanks for an inspiring article about your native wear. The blue one and the grey is the best oufit for you.
Wish you all the best..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94