Steemit Engagement Challenge S3-W3|My Pets.

in Hot News Community2 years ago (edited)

Hello, lovely steemians around the globe. Your presence is generating enthusiastic waves that is the reason I am here again to participate in the Hot News community task for week 3 of season 3 which is about PETS. Let's begin.

Although I am not a pet lover now because of other liabilities in life. However, I got a new pet month back. I bought a Persian Cat worth 30000 INR. There were dogs etc available also but I bought a cat for being docile and showy.

IMG_20220801_204756.jpg

What is the breed and name of your pet? Describe this.

Although I am not a pet lover somehow I got a Persian Cat a few months ago. I kept the name of this cat as Honey and its breed is Chinchilla Longhair and Sterling. Besides this breed, it has three more variants like a Himalayan cat, Exotic shorthair cat, toy and teacup sizes besides Chinchilla Longhair and Sterling variant.

IMG-20220716-WA0006.jpg

As for this breed of cats is concerned, they have long hair over the bath body with tips coloured. The body of the hair is not coloured. There are more than 60 colours of Persian cats. My honey variants have long nose and that is presumed to be beneficial for my cat for two reasons. First, it helps in breathing clean air as a long nose has more surface areas that filter more effectively than its counterparts. Secondly, a long nose prevents tearing in my Honey. After all both these features are good. I can't see my Honey crying. These cats have round faces and are docile. Being quiet, these create no nuisance and can be kept anywhere even at your workplace

Persian cats are very friendly and easily show their friendliness towards anyone who comes to see them. One worth mentioning contribute is that they maintain the cleanliness of their surroundings and are easily trained for defecation and urination timing. They are quick learners and as for responses to vocal responses are concerned, they respond quickly.

Explain your activities with your pets including grooming, feeding, animal health care and others as interesting as possible.

Although I don't indulge too much with cats but sometimes I do watch activities like feeding, grooming and health checkups. Persian cats maintain cleanliness in their surroundings but there are certain things we need to take care of. As these cats have long fur with densely grown hairs, cleanliness of skin by washing and combing is sometimes done by me. Otherwise my cousins at home take care of Honey. Sometimes Honey's eyelashesare cut to prevent excessive tearing.

Recently my cat has a fungal infection of the ear and for which I had to consult a doctor. He gave medicine for honey and follow-ups twice a week .Thankfully, the nfection cleared within 10 days. Moreover, I got honey vaccinated for rabies with ARV ( anti-rabies vaccine ).

Persian cats need foods like ocean fish dried with milk, chicken pellet, and Maxi Persian food. The foods for these cars vary according to their age groups. These cats don't plunge on food at home as they are known to not be fussy for food.

IMG-20220716-WA0007.jpg
Walking with cats on the lawn and making them obey commands is the most interesting activity that I love to perform. Unlike wild cats, Persian cats do not run aggressively but do cat walk (funny ) except on hearing dog barks.

Explain your knowledge about animal diseases that can be transmitted to humans (eg rabies and others) from your pets and what steps you take to prevent and deal with them.

This is the favourite question of this task for me because I am a health professional and so I would like to answer this question in detail. Medically the diseases that are transmitted from animals to humans are known as zoonotic diseases and the phenomenon is known as zoonosis and these diseases are known since antiquity. As for my knowledge of zoonotic diseases is concerned, I think more than 150 zoonotic diseases have been recognised so far. To emphasize the importance of zoonotic diseases, let me remind you that the Monkey Pox disease that is currently seen in various parts of the world is also a zoonotic disease.

These diseases are of concern in rural areas where the majority of the population comes in close contact with these animals. In my country, 80% population lives in rural areas and is vulnerable to contracting these diseases.

To explain the different zoonotic diseases, there is a classification of zoonotic diseases. To avoid making this topic as bookish and boring, I won't discuss the classification but I'll highlight a few points about some diseases that are of public interest Examples are Monkey brucellosis, taeniases, amoebiasissis hydatid diseases, mycosis etc. These are a few diseases that are commonly seen in our setup.

Rabies is commonly seen after a rabid dog bite and is known to all of us. It is transmitted through bites or licks of rabid animals. Besides dogs, other animals like cats, jackals and wolves can also cause rabie We often correlate it to dog bite only. It is a highly fatal disease and must never be taken for granted. Rabies affects the brain and spinal cord or humans and has a mortality rate of 99%. Kindly note the mortality rate of 99%. It means that out of hundred individuals who develop rabies 99% of them die.

Hydatid disease is another disease that is translated through dogs and it affects the liver in humans and causes the formation of cysts within the liver that contains a toxic fluid.

Monkey Pox is a viral infection transmitted from monkeys to humans and also from humans to humans via droplets in respiratory secretions. Monkey Pox causes a rash and swollen lymph nodes in humans. I have covered this topic earlier in great detail here

It is worth mentioning here that, recently my pet had a fungal infection in the right ear. To prevent its spread to me and my family, i immediately consulted a veterinary sciences doctor and got my pet treated. I had to consult that doctor twice week and every visit has 500INR as consultation fee excluding medicine.

IMG_20220716_232752.jpg


Steps to be taken


  • First and the foremost step is that, get your pets vaccinated for some commonly transmissible diseases like the Anti-rabies vaccine etc.

  • Get your pet's health check-up done regularly at a registered centre for them.

  • Keep your pets clean physically There are separate soapss, shampoos and other products available on the market for maintaining the ing health and beauty of our pets. For pet lovers, the health of pets is as important as human health.

  • Keep your pets in hygienic surroundings as you prefer for yourself. Kindly note that, keep them in a separate place away from you because you may contact their infection (if any) and you never know early.

  • Train your pets to have defaccatiin and urination on time and at a place separate from that where they reside.

  • Feed your pets a healthy diet and clean water. Feed them medicated foods to prevent infections in them.


Cc::
@aamir07
@magmux
@olabillion

All images used in this post belong to me and represent my personal work.


Thanks

Sort:  

Fawns, fillies, fledglings, foals – lend me your deer.🦌🦌🦌
We’ve resteemed this awesome post!♻👍

 2 years ago 

Good to hear

 2 years ago 

What a cute kitten, he is very tender, very important all the information provided for the care and diseases of cats. Success and blessings.

 2 years ago 

Pleased to have you around . Thanks

 2 years ago 

Honestly, you have written well about cat. But there is something that do got me scare from cats and that is they eyes at night is something else to me and I don't know if you have noticed such a thing. Thank you for sharing and best of luck.

 2 years ago 

Why should you be looking for eye at night ? I do look at eyes when i play at evening with honey but i don't find scary .

Pleased to have you around .

That greenish glow you see is actually light reflecting off something in their eyes called tapetum lucidum. It works kinda like those reflective chevron vests that riders use at night. Nothing to be scared of, romide. 😊😊

 2 years ago 

Tapetum Lucidum is a tissue behind the retina and that is only a reflector and doesn't impart color . Color is actually due to a seprate tissue known as iris.

Thank you

 2 years ago 

With your post, I can say i wont look Cats they same way as I did. I am very scared of cats, but with this post, I wont anymore

 2 years ago 

Oh that's good . I was able to make a pet lover through rhis post .

 2 years ago 

Hi @drqamu you really have a very cute pet, you have the same cat as me, the difference is that my cat is bigger, I am very Love your pet, may he always be healthy and stay beautiful.

 2 years ago 

Thank you for your well wishes for my pet and I appreciate your time to go through my post .

 2 years ago 

You're welcome!!

 2 years ago 
Description
Information
Score
Club100
🟢
2
Plagiarism Free
🟢
1
#steemexlusive
🟢
1
Bot Free
🟢
1
300 Words
🟢
1
Markdown Style
1
Quality Content
2
Total Score
9/10
Voting CSI9.8 ( 0.00 % self, 60 upvotes, 56 accounts, last 7d )

Determination of Club Status refers to the https://steemworld.org/transfer-search Web-based Application

Verification Date
August 02, 2022
O'clock09.28 AM (Indonesia Time)
Get Upvote21
Valid Comments from Other Users4
Note
Cute Persian kitten, you are lucky to get it. Thank you for sharing your story with us, Keep upvote and comment on other people's posts so that you look more active on the platform by interacting with other users.
 2 years ago 

Thanks for your kind review

 2 years ago 

Honey is so cute and elegant, wow. I love how rich your publication is, so much great information, it is amazing how your cat does cat walks often.

Unlike wild cats, Persian cats do not run aggressively but do cat walk (funny ) except on hearing dog barks.

All cats run upon a dog bark, especially when still small. However, my pet cat Mino stands his ground sometimes, and this scares some dogs 😀. It is a delight to watch!

Good luck friend.

 2 years ago 

[However, my pet cat Mino stands his ground sometimes, and this scares some dogs 😀. It is a delight to watch!

That sounds too interesting and undoubtedly would be delightful for being paradoxical.

Thank you

 2 years ago 

You are welcome my friend

 2 years ago 

Wow what a beautiful entry from you @drqamu your cat horny is very beautiful and I like her furs and white colour. The information you have provided about her is quite interesting to know.

 2 years ago 

So nice to hear that you find my post interesting.

 2 years ago 

Con tu publicación aprendí sobre la respiración de los gatos según el tipo de nariz. Desconocía está información. Gracias por compartirla

 2 years ago 

I am pleased to hear that you got to learn something from me.

 2 years ago 

I like this kind of cat a lot. Such persian bills are very cute to look at. But not everyone can keep them because the types of food it eats have different costs. Anyway a very nice post thank you

 2 years ago 

Yes, you are right. One has to have keen interest in cats to adopt them. Foods do cost .

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59126.81
ETH 2514.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46