SIBAYAK MOUNTAIN CLIMBING | THE MYTH OF MOUNT SIBAYAK NORTH SUMATRA

in Steem-Travelers3 years ago

Hello Steemian, this time I want to share a story about my trip or maybe my climb some time ago with friends to a mountain in North Sumatra. The mountain which according to the surrounding residents is a mountain that has a million charms and also hidden myths in it.

Some time ago, my friends and I went on a trip to Tebing Tinggi, North Sumatra, we, consisting of six people, intended to take one of our friends who married the woman of his heart in Tebing Tinggi. After a long journey, we finally arrived at the bride's house in Tebing Tinggi, North Sumatra. After following the customs there, we also asked for permission to go back to Aceh because we had our respective activities. Before returning to Aceh, one of my friends invited us to stop or climb to Mount Sibayak via the tourist route.


Sibayak.png

For information, Mount Sibayak has a height of 2,212 meters above sea level (7,257 fit) and is located in the Karo highlands, Karo Regency, North Sumatra. Administratively, this mountainous natural forest is included in the category of Bukit Barisan Forest Park (Tahura). The highest peak of Mount Sibayak is called Takal Kuda This is the Karo language which means Horse Head. Mount Sibayak itself has several access points to get to the top from Sibayak 1, Sibayak 2 and tourist routes, this mountain is visited by many young people because of its uniqueness and also the extraordinary natural panorama that we can meet while there. One of the uniqueness of this mountain is that it has several craters which are still active until now.


Kawah Sibayak.png

Long story short, we finally arrived at the top of the crater of Mount Sibayak, we chose the tourist route due to the short distance traveled and we also saved time so that after that we could go straight back to Aceh considering we all have our own busy lives there. After resting for a while, suddenly a thick fog accompanied by a storm enveloped Mount Sibayak. we who did the climb through the tourist route did not have time to make thorough preparations, we could only take shelter in a tent. After the storm subsided, we immediately rushed down to avoid things that were not desirable, because according to the myth there if the fog or storm that came suddenly it was a sign that something mystical would happen.


Kawah Sibayak 2.png

Maybe this is a short story about our trip some time ago to Tebing Tinggi and also to Mount Sibayak which may have many shortcomings in writing and also the storyline which may be irregular and also complete, in this case I apologize because I am still in the process study. I really hope for criticism and suggestions from all of you, so that I can develop better in the future.

Best regards @saya.konoha


LEGEND_20180225_013150.gif


RK footer.gif

Sort:  
 3 years ago 

Hey,

Thank you very much for sharing your post in Steem-Travelers. We enjoyed reading it a lot :)

plagiarism-freeYES
#steemexclusiveYES
#club5050YES
Verified userYES
Bot-freeYES

thank you. I'm happy to be able to share posts here. there are many stories about my adventures that I will share here.

 3 years ago 

After the storm subsided, we immediately rushed down to avoid things that were not desirable,

😂 Have you been up the mountain ever since??
#travelers-say

😂 this bro. straight to the point. 🙏

Long story short, we finally arrived at the top of the crater of Mount Sibayak, we chose the tourist route due to the short distance traveled and we also saved time so that after that we could go straight back to Aceh considering we all have our own busy lives there. After resting for a while, suddenly a thick fog accompanied by a storm enveloped Mount Sibayak.

 3 years ago 

😂😂😂😂😂

a thick fog accompanied by a storm

Probably, the spirit of the Mount Sibayak got angry about your behavior 🙂

something mystical would happen

What mystical things?

don't let that happen. and I didn't do anything weird, and it wasn't my first time climbing either.

mystical things like the appearance of demons and others.

Thank you for the reply. This is interesting. I heard many mystical things in Yogyakarta once I was there for a month - about kuntilanak, ghosts, gendruwos, tuyuls, Roro Kidul (the Queen of the Southern Sea). I even had a spooky experience by myself there.

wow, wow, means you've been to Indonesia.?
what do you think about Indonesia ?

Sorry for being silent for so long.

Indonesia is a great travel destination.

Karimun were amazing. So untouched by the big international tourism industry but neat, cozy, marvellous beauty.

Jogjakarta is quite undeveloped from the point of city infrastructure. :(

But it has great attractions and nice people and supernatural legends.

Of course, I would like to come back to Indonesia one day.

what do you think about Indonesia ?

I think this is great that Indonesia keeps a good level of democracy during last 20 years. https://freedomhouse.org/explore-the-map

Russia haven't succeeded in this at all.

I am so sorry @datych , In the past few days I have been very busy, so I can only reply to your comment today.

if you go to Indonesia later, don't forget to go to Aceh, Aceh is very beautiful, one of the beautiful destinations in aceh is the island of Weh Sabang.

I will go to Aceh one day. An amazing place - I know it from travel reports in this community :)

okay buddy, I'm waiting for you in aceh. :)

 3 years ago 
I would love to go on adventures. But we don't have mountains where I come from. Thank you for the beautiful post.
#travelers-say
 3 years ago 

You and your friends are courageous to have go to the mountain after hearing negative thing about the mountain. It takes an adventure mind to do that. There is a mountain not far from where I live that I wanted to visit but there have been bad reviews about the place in terms of mystery things happening and people dying, since them I couldn't bring myself to go because I have a little baby with me but I love you guys courage and I'm sure you all had a nice time climbing.

#travelers-say

Hola, no sabia donde queda Sumatra, ya se que es en Indonesia, siempre he relacionado ese nombre con algo fantástico, creo que se menciona en películas con temas de fantasía, majestuosa la montaña, Dios los bendiga. Desde que estoy en Steemit, he conocido mucho sitios de países asiáticos, pero lo que mas he visto ha sido Indonesia. Dios pueda permitir que nos sigan mostrando su hermoso país.
Éxito y bendiciones.
#travelers-say

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64821.33
ETH 3466.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51