FAR AWAY FROM HOME.

in Steem-Travelers2 years ago
Season greetings to my esteem steemians in this marvellous travellers community. I hope we are all doing well and having great a day filled with good tidings in every aspect of life as the end of the year gets closer and closer. Please do stay safe and Travel safe.

20211207_135905.jpg

This is my participation post for the "The most distant journey from home" contest by @hive-111293. I wish to invite @kinase, @Ebidek and @eugeniaalexis, and any other persons who would like to participate too to CLICK HERE for the rules and regulations.

THE JOURNEY

20211207_154458.jpg

I had never travelled alone nor had any kind of independence before this trip.
My first time away from home was very difficult and scary. Going for studies in a different city and state was a major change to my life. Even as I did feel very excited about taking the trip, adjusting to life in a new environment and culture was very stressful.
senior-3601678_1920.jpgsource
After my Junior Secondary Years in the year 2011, my parents decided to send 14yrs old me away to a boarding school, which they deemed fit was the best for me Education-wise. They wanted me to go someplace where I would learn and achieve greater standards, thereby changing my way of thinking for the better.

I can describe the day as if it was yesterday, I was so nervous and it wasn't funny a single bit, even though I was looking forward to it myself. The journey itself wasn't just a stone throw case as it was a 2 days journey. The journey started with me boarding a speed board from my rural community to the state capital, then boarding a bus to the state of the school, and then another bus to the school premises.

powerboat-1653985_1920.jpgsource
The speedboat 🚤 journey from my home Peremabiri town to Yenagoa the state capital took us over 1hr 30mins. Imagine sitting down on a boat midway in waters with all kinds of waves hitting against the but, could be terrifying even for elderly figures then imagine a young boy of my age. But, as strange as it may sound, I was excited cause I am addicted to swimming, Lol.
20211207_141620.jpg Screenshot from Google map.

The bus trip from Yenagoa to Calabar the capital of Cross River states was another long journey of about 7hrs 26mins but congested roads and traffic made it a pain in the ass, beyond reasonable doubt, it was over 10hrs.
20211207_152707.jpg Screenshot from Google map.

The journey from Calabar to Ogoja, where the school is located was another painful and stressful journey of about 3hrs 42mins as approximated by Google map, but trust me all these are just approximate values which are never what they are while on the bus.
20211207_152048.jpg Screenshot from Google map.

On my first day at the new school, I was so nervous and stuttering when spoken to with no clue of what to do. It was not easy for me to fit in until I met some people from my locality who were kind enough to show me this new environment around. I was there for three years with no one coming to visit due to the distance and cost of transportation.

I do love to hear your own experiences on it, do well to share your travels.

Like always, cause I know I can't be here to write without you on the other side, I can never stop being appreciative of your great works. Thank you all for always making out to go through my work. I can never say thank you enough. You are my real MVPs.

THANK YOU!!!

NOTE: Always have a smile on your face, as you are never fully dressed without one.

Sort:  

Upvoted! Thank you for supporting witness @jswit.
default.jpg

It would have been more beautiful if you had used your own pictures in your travel stories.

#travelers-say

 2 years ago (edited)

You just read my mind. It definitely would have been better. But, this trip was 10yrs ago when I was still a teenager and no phone is allowed in the boarding house. #traveler-say

Ok thanks for your reply.

Thank you for your time. It encourages me knowing people sees my work. #traveler-say

 2 years ago (edited)

Hey,

Thank you very much for sharing your post in Steem-Travelers. We enjoyed reading it a lot :)

plagiarism-freeYES
#steemexclusiveYES
#club5050YES
Verified userYES
Bot-freeYES

@sahmie - edited, sorry!

Hello @hive-111293. In your feed back, its showing NO on verified member, but I am actually a verified member of this community. And about #club5050 I don't if rules changed, I have powered up more than 80% of my earnings this last month.

Yes Sahmie, everything is all right, I'll edit it when I'll be with the laptop in my hand but in general you don't have anything to worry about. It was a mistake, I copied bad sample, but I treated your post as it's without any mistakes.

Sorry for that

Thank you sir. I really appreciate

 2 years ago 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.73
ETH 3012.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84