The History Photo Contest : Fixed Phone

in Steem-Travelers3 years ago

Greetings and happy new week to all travellers in the community, I hope you all have a beautiful week full of travels. This is my entry post to steem-travelers photo contest about the history.


IMG_20211108_142204_324.jpg

The word history can be a relative world as what is history to me may most likely not be an history to someone else. I decide to used the picture above because it perfect fit my own idea of history. The picture above is a picture of a fixed phone that used to be the only source of communication in my country Nigeria.

A Brief Telecommunications History in Nigeria

Nigeria was colonized by the British in 1960, while the British people was in Nigeria in the early days, there was need to communicate with their people in British hence the introduction of telegraph phone and fixed phones in Nigeria in 1952 and ever since then the telecommunication system in Nigeria have grown massively but it all started from fixed phones and the picture above is example of some of the fixed phones that was used.

Before the introduction of GSM in 1999 in Nigeria, there were fixed phone in most public organization for call purposes. The picture above was taken from a post office in my community some weeks back, fixed phones was the major means of communication in my country back then. People pay to use the phone to call their loved once that are far away but it sad that most of this phones are now abandoned and are not been used like before because technology have advanced and we all use our smart phone for effective communication these days and nobody remember the fixed phones again. I don't know about other countries whether they still use fixed phones but in my county it's almost going into extinction.

I remember back then anyone that has a fixed phone in their homes are known as the rich guys, as fixed phones used to be very expensive and only the rich can afford to own one, while writing this post I google the price of a fixed phone in my country and I was surprised at the price, with 25 steem you can get a fixed phone, that's to show you how it's have drop in value.

I remember the first time I used a fixed phone was when I worked in an hotel, it felt like magic at the time and it wasn't difficult to use at all, super simple and easy not like some of the smart phones we have these days that you need manuals to operate some but I till prefer the smart phone to the fixed phones. I'm grateful to technology for always taking us ahead with great innovation.


Thank you all for your time, that's all I have to say about fixed phone. Thanks to steem-travelers for this great contest I will like to invite @mophebe and @patience90 to join this contest.

Sort:  

Interesting history about the telecommunications in Nigeria.
Thanks for the invitation, I'll soon drop my entry.

 3 years ago 

You are welcome ma'am.

Thank you for the invite ma'am, i'll come up with my entry soon

 3 years ago 

You are welcome ma'am.

aunque de un pasado remoto y muy cercano definitivamente esos teléfonos pasaron a ser historia muy rápido también en mi país.

 3 years ago 

That's correct. Thank you for your comment.

 3 years ago 

Hey,

Thank you very much for sharing your post in Steem-Travelers. We enjoyed reading it a lot :)

plagiarism-freeYES
#steemexclusiveYES
#club5050YES
Verified userYES
Bot-freeYES

Felicidades por tu publicación, suerte en el concurso. Aquí en Venezuela también existían mucho teléfonos públicos parecidos a ese, pero la mayoría están destruidos o fuera de servicio; pero hace muchos años era un medio fijo de comunicación entre la población.
Éxito y bendiciones.
#travelers-say

 3 years ago 

Oh see, it's like that almost everywhere. Thanks you for your comment and have a beautiful week.

 3 years ago 

It will remind you of many old memories. Your post has been beautiful.

#Travelers-say

 3 years ago 

Thank you friend.

 3 years ago (edited)

Interesting history, thank you for sharing with the community, and good luck in the contest!

 3 years ago 

Thank you for your kind comments as always.

 3 years ago 

You have made a great entry @peachyladiva, your history of fixed phone is well understood. Who introduced fixed phone to Nigeria?

 3 years ago 

I already mentioned that in the post @udyliciouz , the British introduced fixed phone to Nigeria. Thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59370.83
ETH 2591.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46